Polyphasic Sleep


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
September 30th 2013
Published: October 18th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Something I find interesting: My friend Nick Down from Burford is truly a remarkable guy. He always finds cool things to try out or is investing his time doing something productive. He had mentioned polyphasic sleeping before but it seemed impossible to try with my busy schedule. I figured now that I have time on my hands I may as well give it a shot. It's an old concept, basically it is a scheduled sleep pattern to maximize the amount of rem sleep. Normally in a nights sleep we go through sleep cycles of light sleep, deep sleep, rem sleep etc. By cutting back sleep times to only 30 minutes every 6 hours it forces the body to jump straight to rem sleep (most important). In theory the body would be getting 2 hours of rem (rapid eye movement) sleep compared to the average 1.5 hours a night. It is said that people on is sleep schedule feel more energized, awake, and gain 11 years that would normally be wasted sleeping. Another neat thing about this is the transformation of being in a conscience state to rem sleep is that the mind starts to dream right away. The concept of lucid dreaming then comes into play and people all over the world, including Nick have said to be able to control their dreams. This allows them to explore worlds that they imagine and partake in adventures that wouldn't be realistic in the real world. There is so much more about the entire concept and I would love to test it out, but there seems to always be something in the way. For this to work properly the person has to be very strict about their sleep and not miss one nap! Before I take part in this I definitely need to research the consequences and negatives! Maybe when I'm older and have more of a permanent schedule I will try this again!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0521s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb