Wildlife Rehab Centre


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
September 28th 2013
Published: October 17th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Since a career involving animals is definitely a possibility, I decided to volunteer somewhere that had wildlife. I bused to a place in the north end, Edmonton Wildlife Rehabilitation Centre! I met with a very nice elderly lady who showed me around and gave me a quick update on what I would be doing! This specific building was the hospital, where animals first come in, are assessed, and then either treated or sent to the rehab centre in Spruce Grove. They take small rodents, muskrats, beavers, squirrels, bunnies, but mostly focus on large birds like hawks, ducks, and smaller birds. Since I am not trained I couldn't do much of the actual procedures but got to witness and help out! abunch of the animals received medicine, a duck had a swim test, and a magpie was brought in! I knew how to wrap the kits for surgery so that was a decent task, as well as filing! I truly find animals interesting and remarkable. It was a great experience to be able to see what it's like to work with birds since that was never really an opportunity for me. I definitely enjoy the personalities of dogs and cats have though, and miss my job back home at Beatties!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0313s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb