Musings on Edmonton


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Edmonton
July 7th 2010
Published: July 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

I arrived just in the knick of time for my poster session. I brought only carry-on items, breezed through customs in 5 minutes, and took a taxi directly to the Shaw Center. By 6:05 pm my poster was up at the session at the International Congress of Conservation Biology. Yeah! My advisor arrived at 6:45 or so. This was my first time to meet her in person and I will not see her again until I graduate. A bit wild but it's the Prescott College way.

Edmonton is an okay city. I skipped the meeting festivites tonight and headed to the Edmonton Capitals baseball game. They beat Tijuana Cimmarrones 14-5. It was fun and more people were there than the tourism agent at Edmonton Tourism told me would be there. The capitals are in the Golden League. No idea what that means.

I will miss the Elk Island National Park tour tommorrow because it arrives one hour later than I expeted. But a pleasant suprise will fill the void. I saw a sign in the lobby that said "Edmonton Oilers Prospect Camp breakfast". The hockey prospects are in town and skating for the public. Whoo, hoo! I will get to experience Canadian hockey after all.

Off to bed. It didn't get dark until 11 pm. It was light the entire game. Someone was mowing their lawn on my walk back to the hotel and their were gardens working-it was 10pm!

Anyway-it's finally dark enough to sleep.

Good night!

Holly

Advertisement



Tot: 0.223s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0404s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb