A Canuckin' good time


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
June 18th 2008
Published: June 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well it was quite strange to watch Penny drive away in a van and find myself halfway across the world with no one to chat with / decide things / see things and awe with etc etc.
I decided to nip it in the bud and do what anyone should do in that position - Climb a mountain.
I go inside to slip the hiking boots on and discover that it is raining cats and dogs!
I go back inside the hostel, kick the boots off, open my book and before I read a single word - not a cloud in the sky. And I thought Melbourne weather was unpredictable.
I managed to get to know two young boys from Montreal named Gabe and Dany.
The boys were in Banff looking for jobs for the summer and were always looking for stuff to do when I was milling around the hostel.
We managed to get down to the Pump and Tap for a Euro game and then low and beyond, the Collingwood/Carlton game came on. Yet again, I found myself explaining footy to foreigners but my real surprise was seeing two dickheads from Frankston sing "We are the navy Blues" when I knew they were both Essendon supporters - Sacrilege!
The remainder of my time in Banff was spent hiking around the days trips of Banff, highlight being the 28km return hike to Minnewanka lake (Pronounced Mini-Wonka)
It was sad to leave the Frenchys after all that we taught each other - Especially them introducing me to Poutine - A Quebecan dish consisting of Chips and Gravy as well as Melted Cheese - Artery hardeners if I ever saw!!!!!!!
Back to Calgary to fly out on the 18th where I managed to sneek a few quiet ales in with my excellent friends - Dev and "Crazy" Nate Sturdy.
The boys were in town for their handback of the photo to "Happy Guy"
(If anyone doesn't know the story check out my facebook groups.)
Twas excellent catching up with these boys and people watching in the heart of Calgary - Priceless!
I did have to catch the train and bus to airport to meet them, then go back into town and then out to the airport again so if anyone needs information on the Calgary 57 route - I'm your man!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0309s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb