Banff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Canada's flag
North America » Canada » Alberta » Banff
November 5th 2007
Published: November 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Me at Banff.Me at Banff.Me at Banff.

In the Rocky Mountains!!!!
Banff!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

So I set off from Vancouver in the evening, still a bit ill from the cold but looking forward to Banff. As my departure date is looming near though, I only spent 2 nights here. I arrived in the daytime, almost missed the stop as I was dropping in and out of sleep and the drivers don't always announce the stops in canada!!!!! So a quick dash to get off the bus and I head to the terminal to see if the free shuttle is available - as my 3 years out of date guide book says there is one. Nope no shuttle so a cab up but its not so bad a price.

The area is STUNNING. I could see the Rocky moutains on the bus ride up, mostly at night but could tell they were immense and then in the daytime they are something else. I was in a real mountain town. The hostel was like a ski lodge with its wooden structure and setting. The area is surrounded by the Rocky's as well as woods. I have to say though it is VERY cold!!!!!!! I was talking to people there, it can get as low
Rocky Mountain shot 1Rocky Mountain shot 1Rocky Mountain shot 1

A shot of just one of the mountains surrounding me..
as minus 40 c!!!!!!!!!

After a good sleep I got talking to some people and went into the town for food and looking for halloween apperal. As I talk to them I become aware that they are all here for the 'season' and plan to work for 6 months to a year. I am the only traveller amongst them, knocking round the hostel I realised I pretty much was the only traveller in the place. It was strange.

We walked into town and walked back, a fair old trek especially going back as its uphill. Got back and prepared for the halloween festivites. I didn't have a bought or made costume so I came up witht he idea of dressing in my all black outfit with long leather coat and putting a label on the coat and top that said "God", I went as God. I did more then that though, I wrote 'The Word" on my left hand and drew in some blue and yellow lines on my write hand so show power (tho these faded pretty fast). I thought it was a clever idea. Had a few drinks in the bar downstairs and then headed to
Rocky Mountain shot 2Rocky Mountain shot 2Rocky Mountain shot 2

Another Mountain surrounding me.
the town, went to a club that was cool but not too busy, then went toa pub and then headed back to the hostel.

The next day took a walk to town and explored it more then headed out to the cave basin, which was where some natural spring thing is in a cave, home to a rare snail and stinks to high heaven as its full of Sulpher. The place was small and I got round it quickly so I walked back and then went to the other side of where I was goign to see the hot springs and gondola. However I didn't realise how far it was, all up hill, practially at the top of a mountain, so hhlafway there, needing to pee and still recovering from being ill, I gave up and headed back to town. After going through town agian I walked back to the hostel and had some great pasta cooked for me by one of the people I met the day before and just hung out with them in the hostel.

I had phoned some relatives that day so my next stop would be to stay with them at their house in Sylvan Lake, where I am now!!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 8, Displayed: 8


Advertisement

Rocky Mountain shot 4Rocky Mountain shot 4
Rocky Mountain shot 4

another one, this time with more snow!
Rocky Mountain shot 5Rocky Mountain shot 5
Rocky Mountain shot 5

Sunny mountain shot
Rocky Mountain shot 6Rocky Mountain shot 6
Rocky Mountain shot 6

Alot of mountain but very beautiful
The CaveThe Cave
The Cave

complete with stinking water!!!


4th January 2008

Then what?
Hey Walkindude, Your trip has been really interesting to read. I hope my trip will be as good as yours when i go in March. But what happened next after Banff? Could you please tell me what youth hostels you stayed in in LA and SanFran dude? Your a good writer, and funny! Cheers, Graham
28th January 2008

hey
hey what hapened after banff?? I stayed with relatives, and was tired on my last day in tronto flying back then went out to make the most of it, then went home and coz I only have dial up, I can't load pics so hence haven't done the blogs!! lol I will do them tho and soon. I stayed at Hollywood Hostel in LA, its pretty good there, rooms aint bad and the £5 bbq lunch was sweet. The entertainment night was cool to but watch some the staff they can be a bit funny. It is in central hollywood tho which is cool, tho is aways form the beach areas. In San Fran I stayed at the Green Tortoise. It was brillent!!!! Reaindly people (except for one guy ont he desk), free food on certain days, relaxed atmosphere, fun and just a great place. Tho igf drug taking offends you then avoid...I am not a drug taker big time myself but I didn't mind that it was pretty much puffing the wold weed there everyday for most people and the odd trip on shrooms but no 1 makes you do owt and its not shady in the slightest, juts really relaxed lol. sorry it took me a bit to reply, havent been on the site in a bit. thanks for the compliments man, really appreciated, glad you enjoyed the blogs!
29th January 2008

Thanks man, hopefully I can stay in thoughs hostels. I'll be checkin back for anymore blog updates. Go travelling again man, and write more!
29th January 2008

thanks
thanks!! I appreciate that. I will do the last 2 blogs soon. I would like to travel more but I am trying to get some money back at mo, thinking about the ol career you know, but that career could be in writing so you never know!

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0447s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb