We got in!


Advertisement
Middle East
July 6th 2006
Published: July 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Okay,

This maybe a fairly brief entry. Suffice to say we are in Tel Aviv - we landed at Ben Gurion airport on the morning of my birthday!. For those who don't know, many people have to go throught a search and interrogation to get into the country, specifically to verify that they are not International Solidarity Movement activists, or the like. We were therefore tourists, here for a nice holiday in the sunny holy land.

We did get searched, and at 3AM we were perhaps not in most tolerant of moods. The stroppy tourist vibe probably worked in our favour, however, and we were in fact not subjected to an interrogation. I think this was down to Jemima's presence- on the two occasions I have been before I have been talked to for hours. She clearly lends an air of respectability I lack.

-Elliot

I'm unconvinced by that, but anyway, we made it, so I'm not going to question how we got through so easily (if you can call a two hour search easy!)

Anyway, it falls to me to make everyone jealous about what we've been doing so far, because it's mostly been lazing on the beach. I have to say I'm impressed with what we've seen of Tel Aviv - it's pretty much like any other Mediterranean resort, with wonderful beaches, nice places to eat and lots of bars with long lasting happy hours. Elliot's birthday giving us a valid reason to enjoy ourselves, we've done just that, and it's been nice to have the chance to acclimatise in relative luxury.

It's also nice to get a sense of "normal" Israel, and its "normal" citizens, waitresses, bar owners and the like - something I want to try very hard to remember later on in this trip.

Right, I'm hungry, so I think we'll leave it here, but sure we'll be back online pretty soon.

-Jemima

Advertisement



10th July 2006

Glad to know that you are utilising travelblog as well
look forward to the next update.
12th July 2006

air of respectability
Elliot, I think after the antics of the English class, an air of respectability is something we all need. I'm glad to hear you and Jemima are doing alright. Finish school next week and I'm looking forward to a summer at Aberystwyth Holiday Village working in the cafe! classy bird as I am! Anyways, speak soon and take care. Pete
16th July 2006

Glad to hear your not in a war zone... yet.
Hi guys! You'll be pleased to know that I felt very reassured after reading your last entry - as you know all too well, the UK media aren't always totally accurate when covering Palestine / Middle East, so it was great to hear that you're both well. The blogs are excellent - although you might want to check puddle duck's particulars on I think it was the second entry. Looking forward to the next. Take good care of each other. Liz xx

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0317s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb