Things Learned


Advertisement
Published: July 4th 2007
Edit Blog Post

WOw...the heat today was quite brutal...about 46..but with the humidity...way more! I found out that there really isn't much to do in Dubai except eat and shop!...shop ...shop ...and shop! The amount of money in this place kills me...all made from oil...gas is like 60 cents a litre..from what we figured out....a/c is everywhere..the energy consumption here is enough for for all of Canada! They idle their cars, don't recycle, and waste like there is no tmrw! The amount of Gold is alos ludicrous! Muslim law reigns...but not for foreingers...things learned...how hands are chopped off...heads are chopped off..there is really no crime here...sheiks are a dime a dozen and that's because there are so many little kings marrying so many women. Malls here are the place to be..spending is a national passtime...women dress to the nines, only to cover up all in black...watching a women wearing a full black abaiya with a face cover, eating an ice cream cone, was like watching an elephant throwing his trunk around getting something into his mouth..it was insane! Oh...and plastic surgeory is everywhere..there are soo many medical buildings that cater to that......the whites here get treated so well...they can do the same job as an Asian foreigner..exactly the same..and make 3x more money...and hearing about Saudi Arabia...only scares the crap out of me...being a woman in North America, is probably the best karma possible...everywehre there, no matter who, has to wear the whole outfit...I must say...still wearing North American cliothing..although is is quite covered up, makes me feel a little naked here...but I am not. My family here is absolutely amazing...what great luck I have...and as an answer to my mother's question...europe is about 4 hours behind Dubai time...and India is 1.5 hours ahead.....

So I am off to my camel safari tmrw....can't wait for that...I have a friend who've I've made here who is leaving, so I must say my good bye's to her....until later...


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 10; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0435s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb