Desert Safari


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Liwa
August 26th 2007
Published: December 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

My tattooMy tattooMy tattoo

Here is my scorpion tattoo, at long last making me a real man!
Yes, at long last I have made it to the real desert. Well, this is actually a bit more of the tourist desert, for I actually make it to the real real desert later on. Any way, this was a nice introduction to the desert that makes all tourists feel like they're seeing the desert. What goes on here is pretty cool though, but please don't generalize and think that this is the reality out here. From what I've seen in my few trips to the real desert, the people are very nice, very humble and pleasant. This place is kind of like the Disneyland of the Middle East.

All right, that being said and done, here's what we got. First we rode out a couple of hours from Dubai to get to the desert. Once we arrive, we get to do dune bashing (4 wheeling). There is a real art to this, that I will describe in a later entry in which I do this myself in my new car (hee hee, stay tuned). Once we arrive at the encampment, we get to wonder around and do all the things we see in the movies. First there is the
HookahHookahHookah

The hookah's are pretty tasty, and they are everywhere in the Middle East!
Hanna tattoos. Very cool, mine you'll see was a scorpion. These tattoos stay on for a few weeks, and I have no idea what the physical property of it is. I'm guessing a mud like substance mixed with ink. The artists have a lot of skill, for applying a mud like substance on skin and making a design looks to be quite a challenge. There is of course the all famous hookah station. Here you can sit and smoke many flavors of tobacco. I've heard each hookah is like 17 cigarettes. Not sure about this one, I'm still researching. This station was where Yuki enjoyed her time quite a lot!

Another popular section was the camel rides. Now, I got somewhat excited at this, until I found out the camels are all tied together and led by someone. During the ride, I had flashbacks of being at a petting zoo. I was really hoping to ride a camel for a bit in the desert night. I suppose even the Arabian Disneyland has to be safe. At the safari, they provided a pretty tasty feast of Arabian food. I had some seconds and thirds, quite good! After the feast, there
Making Coloradians proud again!Making Coloradians proud again!Making Coloradians proud again!

Here is how you ride the camel: with a toothpick in your mouth, eyes focused on the target, one handed while drinking a beer!
was the famous belly dancing. It was cool. I have to admit, the lady had some pretty good moves. Once she starting dancing with the school staff, then everything thought they could belly dance. Ouch, the dangers of drinking and thinking you can dance don't go away, even when traveling to the Middle East. Luckily, I avoided this prospect, much to everyone's relief.

Perhaps the best part though is when I got away from the provided events and got to spend time with friends in the desert night. The dunes presented their own beauty that is not possible to describe. To see sand flowing in its own nature is amazing. Under a roof of night stars that are brilliant brings a certain peace. The experience made me feel very glad for choosing to travel to this place. This helps to ease the difficulty of seeing many good friends and family.

Overall, I enjoyed the desert safari and got a nice introduction to the beauty of the land. Getting the uncensored version though is so much better!



Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

New friendNew friend
New friend

The camel, like many animals, comes with a certian spirit that does deserve respect.


Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0674s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb