Dubai...


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
January 20th 2017
Published: January 20th 2017
Edit Blog Post


On our way to Dubai - Heathrow Aiport
Dubai! Possibly one of the cleanest places I've ever been, but despite my love of all things clean, after spending three nights here, I've decided that it's very unlikely we will return. It's just too pricey, restrictive and the people are in my opinion very rude.

We've seen some really cool things, Burj Khalifa, Jumeirah Beach, Dubai Mall, Mall of Emirates and oh yeah a shit tonne of construction sites!! Everywhere you look something is being built, which will be great in the future but right now it ain't pretty! The Burj was cool, but pricey, 1100AED for us both to go to the 148th floor at the very top. We got given a drink, but that's the priciest glass of Tropicana I've ever had! The views are cool, but are blown out of the water by CN Tower and Empire State Building in my opinion. Jumeirah beach is man made and is ok but it gets packed! I literally had dicks starring me in the face because the men in speedos were so close! One thing I've found is they love charging you for stuff over here, I wanted to wash the sand off my feet, but they charge 20AED for a 1 minute spray of water... that's equivalent to £4 just for me to rinse the sand off my foot! F'in cheek! One of the most iconic moments so far for me is trying my first ever Cinnabon... I cannot even describe in words to those that have not tried one how good they are! I'm getting emosh just reliving it!

The malls are really nice, they are a cross between a U.K. and USA mall, with all the best shops/restaurants from both. I have so far found 3 Sephoras, disappointingly they have their own Middle East rewards card, so my purchase was for nothing... joking I actually really needed that mascara, those liquid lipsticks and that eyeshadow palette...

Food wise we haven't been very cultural, that being said we haven't needed to be it's so Western here (when they choose to be) the malls have chain restaurants such as Cheesecake Factory, Pizza Hut and even IHOP!

We're currently sat in Dubai airport, waiting to board our flight to Bangkok. When we arrived I needed to pee and to my absolute disgust when I closed the toilet door and turned around I found a hole

View from the Burj Khalifa
in the ground! I'd been prepared for this, but perhaps not so early on in the trip, so I opened the door and calmly (ha) walked away... it can wait! More airport excitement, I think I may have been chatted up by a man from Kuwait in Starbucks, he gave me a piece of chocolate because 'he believes coffee is best enjoyed with a piece of dark chocolate' ... smooth. He then went on to tell me that the London accent is in his opinion the sexiest... really?! That's when I bid him farewell and wished him a safe flight.

I'll end this post here. Just landed in Bangkok and I need to speak to a man about a taxi.... wish us luck!

Bye!



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



My Peacan Caramel Cinnabon


The toilet I found in Dubai airport... gross! For the record I did not use this!


Tot: 0.205s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1339s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb