No pain no gain


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
August 8th 2006
Published: January 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

Ski Dubai were holding a five day freestyle course and we were lucky enough to have two professional snowboarders from Austria come out to give us instruction. They were Gigi Ruf and Sani Alibabic and both are sponsored by Burton. The first two days of our course was with the ski dubai instructors learning how to ride rainbow rails, boxes and tabletops. The next two days we had instruction from Gigi and Sani.

We had about eight people in our group some of whom lived in Dubai and others who were living overseas. By the forth day every single one of us had injuries. I had twisted my knee, my elbow, bruised my coxic and to top it off I went over a tabletop and completely lost it and landed on my face and outstretched hand. The next day my wrist was still really sore and thought I would go to the doctor just to get it checked out to be on the safe side. They sent me to get some xrays taken where it was determined I had chipped a small bone in my wrist and would need to wear a splint for the next few weeks. I was a bit disappointed as the final day of the course we were having a rail competition. But the good news was I got six weeks off work so I was stoked.

I still went to the last day of the course and we all hung out, which was really fun. They were giving away some good prizes including beanies, snowboard boots and a brand new snowboard. We all went to après afterwards for drinks. Its pretty cool with real comfy couches and booths overlooking the ski slope and has to be one of the only places in Dubai where you can rock up in all your gears and leave your snowboard at the door. Had a really good time and made lots of improvement. Now I have six weeks off to go to Sydney and spend lots of time with my family, and go to new Zealand as well and catch up with friends in Auckland and down at the mountain....can't wait!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0436s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb