Deep in Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
October 6th 2015
Published: November 12th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Day 1

My first night good got picked up, hot as hell booked this hotel for 2 nights first day found this website called dubizzle who its where people rent

rooms on there as I didn't have a phone I whatsapp-ed them to see seeing if I could see there rooms, I found a room where a women answered the door I reckon she was from

the Philippines. She told me to come to this floor in this tower it was massive I went to the wrong tower at first and ended up knocking on a family's door who looked teriffed when they answered.

I did finally find the room where another family were there they said they were moving out soon and wanted to rent there room (perfect)

it was illegal but everyone seems to do does this seemed good and I only had one day to sort a place to stay so I took it there and then. I do get weird looks in this building I assume its not a building where a lot of western people stay.

Day 2

I started my job today which was brilliant I am learning about all the different areas of this city its very racist my job is commission based I forgot the say I work in real estate out here. So. I don't have a salary which means i'm going to have to put in all my effort to make sure I succeed in this industry right after my first day I moved into my new place its in a tall tower with thousands of apartments with the most different kinds of building you could find a flat with a millionaire to him self and other with 7 people per room it was nuts the best way I can explain it is if you have seen the film bill and teds bogus journey where there in hell and the open the different doors to there childhood expect all the horror stuff. I am sharing with two couples a french couple and a Istanbul, I did speak to the french girl for a bit she was nice shame she had a finance I must say. In my room I had an Arabic rug. I have a T.V mostly everything on there is in Arabic the only UK T.V in the news and a USA documentary channel most of it is Arabic sports.

Day 3

Shopping is difficult considering the supermarket down stairs does not sell any meat apart form frozen chicken nuggets which my cooker barely works the heater doesn't seem to heat anything up that much well not warm enough o be boiling so I had to have just warm pasta. My job is going well I prefer being in that building more than where I am I do like my view though. I have met most of my new flat mates there is another girl and guy they are also working here like most people. I have watched 3 harry potter films in the last 3 days considering its the only channel I understand.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.033s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb