Dubai Quest


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
February 8th 2015
Published: February 8th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Jamie talked me into going to Dubai this weekend; it has been four months since I've been, so I "made the right decision" and hurriedly booked a ticket, packed my bags and left after a long day of work. I got in super later after the usual holding pattern at midnight - definitely every time now. Also, of course, our plane was parked at a stall, meaning a bus. Ugh. Customs took a while (I miss my e-gate!), and finally I got home about 1:30am. It was all worth it.

I was able to sleep in until about 9 before we slowly woke up and caught up. I took a nice long shower and tried to find something decent to wear for brunch - we were going to a fancy place and usually the girls we hang with are super fancy. I settled on a simple grey dress I have not worn yet. Man I need to lose weight (this is not the weekend to worry about that though!).

We caught a taxi and headed over to Downtown Dubai. Specifically, we went to The Address Hotel. This is one of my favorite buildings in Dubai, so I was so excited to be here. We went to the wrong Japanese restaurant at the hotel, where I had already accidentally grabbed a champagne (no problem!). They led us outside to the Zeta - the Fountain restaurant. Oh. Em. Gee!!!!!!!!! I was such a tourist - my mouth was hanging open. Athina was waiting for us, at a table on the balcony overlooking the Fountain, Dubai Mall and Burj Khalifa. OMG! Two more friends, Hiba and Debbie, arrived and we were ready to get our brunch on. Hiba was the only one who didn't drink, but the rest of us had an impressive array of cocktails; first they brought us some black current frozen rum drink (YUM), then a coconut vodka drink (ok), then a passion fruit vodka drink (yum!), a spicy Bloody Mary (yum), and finally a great bottle of red wine. All included.

The highlight though was the food. It was Japanese themed and unlike most brunches, the kitchen brings the food to you. It is like a seven course meal brought out family style with portions based on the number of people in the party. We started with spiced edamame and miso soup. Then tofu with salad and tuna tartare, followed by tempura like shrimp and vegetables. Then came the giant sushi boat. Followed by a course of chicken and waygu beef with mushrooms and asparagus. Finally the dessert came out - you most know that I'm not a dessert person. I've converted. About 10 types of fruit, three types of sorbets (passion fruit, coconut, and raspberry), and a chocolate dish that was so good! The chef came out twice to describe the items (main course and dessert), so it was just an amazing experience that I will always remember! The view was spectacular and the weather was perfect.

That evening, Addi met up with us and we went Nasimi Beach at the Atlantis at the Palm. We were supposed to see Basement Jaxx, who I've never heard of but who are apparently awesome. However, after two hours with a decent DJ, only the two DJ's from Basement Jaxx came. After another thirty minutes of the same (only with green laser lights and flames), we went home. The highlight of this evening was people watching: incredibly drunk drunk people and women with short cut-off denim or white shorts with their ass-cheeks hanging out. I guess this is the new style? Was I always old??

Day two we were supposed to go to the shooting range with Hiba in Abu Dhabi, but it was a long ride (I did really want to go because as a girl, I'm not allowed to in Qatar), so we talked her into going to try the Escape Room instead. Jamie and i did this in Malaysia and it was awesome. I had only done it there; the other four have tried at least one in the Dubai area recently. The Escape Room/Quest idea is a game where your group gets locked into a room and has to solve all kinds of puzzles to get out. Sometimes there is just one room, sometimes it is several. The clues can be anything. With two players it is harder; I think three is a perfect number. It was a good choice and the first time I won one! We only needed one clue. It was fun, but we liked the ones in Malaysia much better. There is a backstory and great atmosphere - like the jail has trap doors and guns and cages or the Vampire room was dark and spooky with a coffin
Escape QuestEscape QuestEscape Quest

This one is found at JLT
in the middle. Still, I bet once the word gets out and the game catches on, the game will also improve.

Next we went to Kite Beach where they were hosting the Dubai Food Festival. Awesome! (And more food!) There were containers which had their own mini food stands representing local restaurants. The food was so good. The Pantry had a delicious Mexican spiced chicken, the Claw had good wings and fish tacos, and I tried Salt Burger, which had a long long line but delicious burgers. So. Much. Food. While we were enlarging our bellies, we got to watch the beach crowd. Ok, more of the cut-off denim ass-cheek shorts. AND two women with brazilian thong bikinis. Ugh. Sorry, that even offends me and here you are in the Middle East wearing that in front of local families. I find it insulting and disrespectful (Again - was I always this old?)

Finally we went to Jumeirah Beach Walk and watched American Sniper at the cinema. I was impressed! Bradley Cooper did a great job! Then we walked along the walk, stopping at a Greek restaurant. I had half a glass of iced tea and a piece of bread. So full. Finally it was off for my 2am flight home. It was a great weekend that gave me a break I really needed. So, I think I'll be back in two weeks. 😊


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

Brunch at ZetaBrunch at Zeta
Brunch at Zeta

Sushi boat
Brunch at ZetaBrunch at Zeta
Brunch at Zeta

Dessert course
Salt BurgerSalt Burger
Salt Burger

at Kite Beach
Brunch at ZetaBrunch at Zeta
Brunch at Zeta

Gorgeous views
Brunch at ZetaBrunch at Zeta
Brunch at Zeta

keep the cocktails coming
Brunch at ZetaBrunch at Zeta
Brunch at Zeta

Chocolate course
Escape QuestEscape Quest
Escape Quest

awesome game!
Brunch at ZetaBrunch at Zeta
Brunch at Zeta

the Cod dish was delicious


10th February 2015

clothing choices
Thank you for sharing your recent Dubai trip! I also noticed the huge lack of respect with some ladies' clothing choices in Dubai! Many women were wearing yoga gear (tight see-through pants and spaghetti strap tanks) to the mall and thong swim suits on the beaches and in water parks. It was unbelievable!
11th February 2015

Disrespectful
Yes, it is really quite offensive. They don't ask much here - is it that hard to wear jeans and a t-shirt???? The drunken night at the concert is one thing, mostly just sad/funny, but on the family beach? And these girls weren't laying out - they were in full exposure playing volleyball or paddle ball. I remember seeing a woman at the grocery store too - full length white see through dress with a black thong and nothing else. Why? I seriously just don't get it. Why come here at all?
13th February 2015
Brunch at Zeta

Brunch
As a foodie I'd love detailed descriptions of the foods you are trying. This looks fantastic.

Tot: 0.063s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0412s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb