Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
May 25th 2011
Published: May 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dubai SkylineDubai SkylineDubai Skyline

Amazing views while flying in... I saw the manmade islands and the skyline.. the Burj Khalifa towers WAY above the rest of the skyline.
Wow, what a crazy/ great place! I've never been to the middle east, but have always wanted to... making a mini-trip out of an extended layover was just right. After the flight delays and all that good stuff in Los Angeles, I arrived here around 4pm and headed straight into town-- first stop: Gold/ Spice Souks. WOW! So much hustle and bustle... it's basically a massive maze of alleys that are 3 feet wide.. full of men attempting to sell their goods (which are the same in every shop) for the 'best price.' Thanks to mum's bargain lessons in other countries as a kid, I've become quite the bargainer myself. Got myself some gorgeous little aladdin slippers, theyre gold and maroon and sparkly and have curled toes.. now i'll always have a piece of dubai with me :] After finding my way out of the markets, i managed to wave down a taxi and head over to Dubai mall which is attatched to the Burj Khalifa, the tallest building in the world.. and thats definitely an understatement. ITS INSANE. I can't even attempt to describe it, and pictures do absolutely no justice. There's a big pond in the front of the building that does water shows every once in a while so that was quite spectacular as well. The mall is a joke, i dont even know what else to say about it. It's literally a palace and too big to even comprehend. In an hour, i walked about 10% of one level.. theres 6 or 7 levels! It would take months to go around the entire place. And its so nicely decorated... gold and glass everywhere, fountains, art, things hanging from the super high roofs... it was amazing. Oh, another thing about this place... ive never seen so many nice cars and range rovers in my life. The streets are full of range rovers, i dont know why!
Its just past midnight here and I'm going to try to get some rest before another big day tomorrow... but this time tomorrow I will be in my new"home"!! Cant hardly wait!


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

burj khalifaburj khalifa
burj khalifa

Doesn't do any type of justice.


Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 13; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0584s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb