Hello from Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
April 28th 2006
Published: April 29th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello from the UAE. Hello from Dubai! Well I am exactly 12 hours time zone away from home so I must truly be on the other side of the world. Arrived...late late late (delays delays). Passport control and customs was unbelievable! I didn't have to fill a declaration form or apply for a visa...nothing! I just handed my passport to the officer at the desk...click click click on the computer 'where did you come from'...'where are you staying'...stamp stamp stamp...done...amazing! Was so late, tourist info was kind enough to call my hotel (where the poor guy was waiting up for me!) and get directions for my cab driver (I think it's the hardest to find hotel in all Dubai...really!). Hotel guy was waiting outside the street maze to guide me in. What a place. This was my most anticipated hotel. It did not disappoint. Historic, beautiful, very special (hope to get pictures up soon...stay tuned!). Now I can relax for the next week.

AAAAHHHHHH...4:30am wake up. It's Friday...the most holy day...and the call to prayer has begun. The 'biggest mosque' in Dubai is just down the street.

9:00 breakfast then onto a 'hop on hop off' bus tour. Dubai
Burj Al ArabBurj Al ArabBurj Al Arab

yes...I really am here
facts...80% of the people are expats, 50% of them are Indian and every 4 out of 5 people are men (and on Friday there are 100 men to every 1 woman!). Dubai use to be a small pearling town which ended in the late 1800s when Japan discovered how to culture the pearls, then in the 1960s Brits discovered oil. Here, oil is cheaper than water. They think the oil will be gone by 2010 so to prepare, they are putting everything into trade and tourism. Construction is everywhere! I did not think I would see as much as I did in my first day! YES...I saw the 'Burj Al Arab'! It is huge. Also the 'World' and 'Palm' and 'Burj Dubai' projects, old gold and spice souqs (this is the best smelling city I've ever been too!), shopping mall after shopping mall...and then I went bobsledding...

Got back to the room very late and so tired. Sat outside on the lovely swinging chair enjoying the warm evening breeze letting my memories catch up with me. Next plans? Hope to wander around the town, explore the souqs, maybe take a tour or two out of town (east coast and
Bur DubaiBur DubaiBur Dubai

view from my room
Abu Dhabi...maybe?)...later!


Oooo...before I forget. Thanks to all for your comments! I have seen them and am selfishly keeping them to myself for now 😉 Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

back to Bur Dubaiback to Bur Dubai
back to Bur Dubai

via water taxi


Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 15; qc: 58; dbt: 0.0765s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb