Ramblings from the Desert


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
March 15th 2009
Published: March 15th 2009
Edit Blog Post

ibn 001ibn 001ibn 001

this is the Heritage village
Well here we are at the Ides of March- and another weekend here been and gone.Matthew flew home on Wednesday and on Thursday five of us went to the terrace at le Meridien as usual- Shane flying back to Melbourne on Friday morning.

Friday here was quite hot ,very humid and very foggy Ian and Sally had the car so we just relaxed at home and did the supermarket shop across the road. In the late afternoon when Ian and Sally returned from the beach we all drove out to yet another mall- one I had not ticked off my list- ibn buttata- named after the famous Arabian explorer.We had our evening meal there using our buy one get one free tokens of course!!
On saturday we all drove up to Hatta as Ian and Sally had not been- for me it was twice in one week as we were there with Matt on Tuesday- but it is one of my favourite places.Unfortunately we saw lots of road accidents on the way back including the ambulance from the first accident having been hit by a lorry doing a u turn a few miles on down the road.Ironically, yesterday was the start of a new safety initiative out here to try and reduce the horrendous accident figures over here.

Today there is a major emergency drill exercise at the airport so I am glad we are not meeting any one this Sunday.

Hopefully, I should become a UAE resident this week as I had my medical last Wednesday- I still have the bruise on my arm to prove it showing where the vampires attacked.
i have seen some interesting birds this weekend- I had a beautiful tiny irridescent bird in purple sitting on the pot plant on my balcony- I eventually managed to find out that it was a sunbird I also spotted a large brightly coloured bird at Hatta - it was not a parrakeet or a jay- it was the same colours as a kingfisher but much much larger and flew slower.


Additional photos below
Photos: 20, Displayed: 20


Advertisement

ibn 004ibn 004
ibn 004

in the majilis
ibn 013ibn 013
ibn 013

This is in Ibn Battuta Mall there are courts for Tunisia, Persia, Egypt, India and China
ibn 015ibn 015
ibn 015

There are displays about the explorer Ibn battuta and the instruments he used for navigation
ibn 019ibn 019
ibn 019

This is in the Indian court
ibn 020ibn 020
ibn 020

There is a life sixe Chinese junk in the China court
ibn 021ibn 021
ibn 021

Ian and Sally at Hatta Fort Hotel


Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb