Dubai and Rural India


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
November 2nd 2008
Published: November 6th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Dubai - a transit stop on my way back from India. It's stating the obvious but it was hot here, even in this time of the year. In some ways it felt like that I am still in India but in a different environment. Half of the time I got by speaking Hindi. There are plenty of electronic and gold shops here.

I was staying in Deria (near the creek) and the thing which really stands out in the sky line is Burj Dubai. The world's longest tower and they are still building it. It is sinister looking and a little creepy. Probably because it is much taller than any other building in the skyline by a long way. There is construction going on everywhere around Dubai. The Palm Jumeirah is an artificial islands in a shape of a palm. When we were driving towards the Atlantis hotel (on the crescent), it didn't feel that you're on an island. A really impressive attraction of the Atlantis hotel is the gigantic aquarium. Lots of fish... even manta rays and sharks! For a second I wished that I was actually inside the aquarium but after my traumatic diving experience in Cairns, the marine life was probably best appreciated from the outside. Good thing that the glass can handle all that water pressure!

I wasn't sure what to expect of the beaches and I wasn't disappointed at all. The beaches are actually nice and I was glad to hit the beach again 😊 They are relatively clear and different shades of blue could be seen.

My favourite dune bashing. From the name I thought we would go into the sand dunes, get the sand boards out and start messing around in the sand. When we reached the desert and as the driver started pulling some crazy manevours over the dunes, we realized that it's dune bashing using the Land Cruiser vehicle. Thrilling stuff! Part of the tour was a camel ride, dinner at a camp with a belly dancing show. A memorable experience in Dubai.

On trip to India, I'd spend Diwali in Delhi. Most tourist to India probably don't get to visit/experience the rural life. So I have uploaded few pics depicting life in the country side (U.P)




Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



18th November 2008

couple of pointers about Dubai photos...
The Tallest Hotel = Burj Al Arab (Durj Al Arub) Thin Building = Burj Dubai (Al Durj)
5th January 2012
Al Mamzar Beach Park

hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii
hiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiii

Tot: 0.237s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 24; qc: 90; dbt: 0.0684s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb