Dubai International Airport


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
June 1st 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

DUBAI INTERNATIONAL AIRPORT



Sunday 1st June, 2008

Dubai - the first thing I noticed when we were flying in to land was all the lights. It reminded me of Las Vegas. Not that I've ever been to Las Vegas, but I can imagine it would be like Dubai. The aiport is fantastic, like a mini version of the metrocentre. I didn't even know what the Dubai currency was when I got there! I had to go to the exchange place and get "ten pound stirling of...the Dubai...stuff." Luckily for me, the man at the desk had ovbiously served innumerable idiots like me who are simply passing through and didn't bother to learn anything about the country. My next problem was when I went to purchase one bottle of waye at a price of '20DH'. I knew I had a '20DH' coin, but I had two pieces of Dubai coinage. It ended up that I held both pieces out to him in the palm of my hand like the dumb tourist I am and said "Which one?" Again, he had obviously had plenty of practice. Afterwards, I thought to myself 'but what if he had tried to rip me off and took the other coin instead?' But then he would have been ripping himself off, as I knew that the other coin was '10DH'.

The flight from Newcastle to Dubai was good as far as long haul flights go. The worst part was leaving Lee behind. It was a shame I would be missing his birthday too, but I knew he would survive without me for four weeks. I had a window seat on the flight, and originally there was a bloke sitting next to me, but he moved before the flight even took off! Obviously I smelled. For my inflight meal I had some sort of fish stuff with sauce and vegetables, a salad and shrimp noodles. I kept the menu to show people back home, because it is pretty impressive! The only bad thing was the chocolate mousse desert - YUK! All of the drinks were complimentary and they had some pretty good stuff on the TV too.

The most interesting thing to note about Dubai: 2.45 in the morning, and 33°celcius heat! How do they do it??

Advertisement



Tot: 0.056s; Tpl: 0.007s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0303s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb