Dubai


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
June 8th 2008
Published: June 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi everyone, finally I get around to starting my blog (hoping beyond hope the computer doesnt crash!) Well my trip started with a fantastic flight to Dubai having all four seats in the middle to myself. Dubai was a lovely 35 degrees on arrival (18:30). My first impression was of disorganisation at the airport unable to locate my pick-up in the throng of people. Eventually sorted it was a short drive to the fabulous hotel. My room being enormous having a great view of the north part of the city and a bed as wide as it was long.
As soon as I arrived I went for a walk to find some food, I was disappointed to only locate fast food places and had to resort to McDonalds for dinner. I was however happy to locate a huge shopping mall and noticed how cheap everything was. After a great nights sleep I set about making the most of my one day there and seeing everything I could. Not appreciating the huge size of the city I decided to walk to the sights, huge mistake. Not only were they several miles away but it was about 43 degrees at this point. I ended up taking a taxi and first went to the museum, this cost about 45p entry and was a great way to see how the city has developed over the decades. I then walked round the old town getting lost in all the little side streets. It was immediately apparent I was the only "Westerner" there however I didnt get too much hassle from the lucky lucky men. The area near the museum was mainly Indian and I have never seen so many beautiful saris before, I vowed there and then that I would have to go back when I had more time. Next I headed over the creek on a little motorised boat they cram with locals, this cost 10p instead of the £15 they'd wanted for a tourist tour! Wandered around the spice Souk and then the gold Souk exercising the most amount of self-control I have ever had. It had the most beautiful jewellery I have ever seen. From there it was back over the creek and a taxi ride to the World Trade Centre (lesson learnt with walking). Lunch in one of the nice hotels near there and onto Burj al Arab the 7-star sail hotel. It was amazing seeing it driving up to it and I was excited to think of eating in there however this was not to be since I was turned back at security being told only people with an appointment could go in (even for coffee!) Ever the enterprising type I wandered up the road and found an exquisite hotel with its own lake and castle in the grounds and its own beach. I sneaked past security and found the bar. Had a couple of drinks there overlooking the Burj al Arab and then wandered round. Found a conservation part where they had about 20 rescued sea-turtles they were nursing back to health, gorgeous and fascinating. My cunning plan to get some good photos of the hotel from the beach was scuppered by a zealous security guard who demanded to see my hotel ID before letting me on the beach - oh well it was worth a try! :-)
Back to my hotel via 45 minute taxi for a swim in the roof top pool and bed before early start off to Nairobi.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



8th June 2008

Jealous!
Glad you have got there safe, im jealous to death. Photos look beautiful. Safe next leg of your travels. STOP TRYING TO BREAK INTO HOTELS! x
9th June 2008

You Lucky,Lucky B£$%*&
Wow, how good is that place. I take it you have to toghten you purse strings in order to stay afloat. Good luck on the next step. Hope to see you in Melbourne eventually, Regards Dave, Debbie & Laura xx
11th June 2008

Troublemaker :-)
Dubai (and soon Nairobi) won't know what's hit it! Love the cheeky approach, it's so you and it so reminds me of our time growing up :-) Really wish I could join you on your travels as sounds like you're having a riot! Take care and I look forward to more updates!
12th June 2008

coolio
glad ur having a good time, looks cool. keep us updated. safe travelling!!!!! (Stop eating MacDonalds!!) Love ya!

Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0782s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb