Flying


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
February 5th 2008
Published: February 5th 2008
Edit Blog Post

To be honest, I was dreading the flight. Previous to this, the longest I'd been on a plane was 2 hours. We had no problems at Brisbane airport and managed to get four seats between the three of us (thanks Les!). We watched the takeoff through a camera on the front of the plane, and then we were off to Singapore.
I found out something important at this point: I can't sleep on planes. There's too much noise.
A couple of movies and some Top Gear later, we landed in Singapore at 1am, local time. No hiccups through security, and we were on the plane again. After jumping through a few more timezones we landed in Dubai around 6am local time. We couldn't see much due to the heavy fog/haze, but the airport is HUGE. It looks like a two-level shopping centre, only a kilometre long.
From Dubai we flew to Heathrow, arriving just after 12noon. During the flight I calculated that our 8pm to 12noon flight (16hrs) actually took 26 (realtime) hours due to time differences. Thats really going to throw me for the next few days.
My fears about Heathrow were completely unfounded. After all the horror stories I'd heard, it only took us about 20 minutes from getting off the plane til we were walking outside!
Stephen and Luke picked us up (after a brief pub stop).
So here we are, England!

Advertisement



5th February 2008

wowee!
Congratulations on your Heathrow triumph! I'm in awe.

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0475s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb