just a blur..


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
August 27th 2007
Published: August 31st 2007
Edit Blog Post

the worst leg of my journey starts here. late night flight to Dubai, arriving 2am, and 92 degrees of hot air blowing in your face. Awake enough for my 4 hour city tour which was really just an orientation tour (pointing out things from a bus) and visits to places not allowed to enter or take photos. Finally a trip to the Gold Souk (market) where I was completely uninterested. Blah. Dubai has been called the city of the future. Glass and steel highrises tall enough to touch clouds. A place where many nationalities live together, and do business. blah blah..this place has no soul.

Straight back to the airport to catch my flight to Delhi. Delhi airport is a disgusting nightmare you cannot awake from. After digging through change (euros, dollars, turkish lire, take your pick) to enter the visitors waiting area at 4am (the day after). Met a nice guy from Oman, living in India part time and working in Vietnam the rest. He had no flight and was waiting eternally like me. We compared travel notes for hours, and drank lots of tea. Between him and Emirates Airlines I am grateful for hospitality and friendliness not found elsewhere in the past 48 hours.

Arising to prepare for my flight to Kathmandu, I was told by Jet Airways that I needed a new boarding pass. They could not find my bag, it was in 'storage', which I translate into 'dungeon'. They said maybe you will get your bag tomorrow, or three days.

I am arriving in Nepal commando, with only toothbrush, notebook, and 2 changes of clothing. The practice of simplicity and patience has arrived!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.096s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0713s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb