A Total 180


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Dubai
March 2nd 2022
Published: March 2nd 2022
Edit Blog Post

Since I needed a connecting flight to get home I thought I would stop in Dubai for a few days since I didn’t have the clothes to stop in Amsterdam. I also have never flown on Eremites Airlines so I thought I would give it a try.

I’ll admit I hadn’t thought too much about the history of UAE so I did some research on my 5 hour flight over.

This past December was the 50th anniversary of the creation of the United Arab Eremites. Prior to that it was knows as the Trucial States. But, now they are a collection of seven emirates making up the UAE: Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Ajman, Umm Al Quwain, Fujairah, Ras Al khaimah, and Sharjah. Each state has waterfront, city, then mostly desert. Abu Dhabi is the capital and about 80% of the UAE from a geography standpoint. Dubai is the business capital, but no longer has oil. All of the oil distribution comes from Abu Dhabi.

They created UAE to have a united currency and boarders, primarily for oil export. Over 85% of the population are foreigners.

Up until March 1st 2022 you could receive a $1000 USD fine for now wearing a mask in public. I knew nothing of this law so fortunately I only had one day here before it was lifted.

I arrived in Dubai on Sunday evening, just one hour off of Uganda and headed to my hotel. I knew any hotel I stayed at would seem luxurious having hot water and A/C so I picked a hotel with a convienient location.

I’ll be honest a large Diet Coke with extra ice was my first stop then a nice hot shower in an air conditioned room.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.054s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0224s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb