KALAS! My final BLOG entry


Advertisement
Published: June 28th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Salam (Hello)!

The time has come for me to post my final BLOG from my 2010-2013 journey in the UAE. I must admit that the ending will be bittersweet in memory for me. I guess I will begin by saying that it has been by far, the most experiential and enriching journey of my life thus far.

My journey in the Middle East has blessed me with the privilege of meeting some very wonderful, BIG and LITTLE, people first and foremost. I have worked alongside many interesting, intelligent, fun people from many different countries, some of which have become and will remain, lifelong friends; I’ve had the opportunity to hone my skills as a teacher both through experience and professional development respectively; I’ve taught some awesome children (and some not so awesome, but equally as lovable) that have assisted me in becoming a better teacher and person overall; I’ve traveled to 7 different countries (U.A.E. included); learned a lot, and I mean A LOT; I’ve made many memorable acquaintances and had some really positive and fun times, with my students, colleagues, and NEW lifelong friends.



When I reflect on my journey, I cannot pinpoint only one or two or even three aspects of it that were the best. I can say however, that the ultimate outcome was watching my dream/goal of purchasing my cottage, come to fruition (speaking of which I am so excited to actually begin to ‘live-in’) pretty much tops the list. At the same time, I never had any idea coming here, that I was going to have the opportunity to develop a ‘travel bug’, nor did I think I would create such a network of new friendships, nor that I would realize how much I love being a teacher.



After four years supply teaching and having to work a second job respectively to supplement my income back in Canada, coming to teach in the U.A.E. felt as though I was on a permanent vacation in many different ways. The UAE possesses a certain flare (which is often referred to by Expats as “bling, bling”)and classiness that is also bittersweet and difficult to describe but that is intriguing nonetheless. I admit I was a wee bit intimated by the culture in the Middle East when I first arrived ("culture shock”) but soon found my own niche through my morning jogs,
AliAliAli

Final FUN days with my boys
bike rides to the Corniche, and wearing my Abaya’s to work each day (with my baby doll PJ’s underneath many days). I was also able to keep up with my faith by attending St. Josephs Cathedral 4:30 p.m. mass each Sunday, which I am very grateful to this nation and it’s rulers for allowing me to do so. It wasn’t too long before Abu Dhabi became and felt like, my second home.

I cannot end my ‘final BLOG’ without mentioning another goal that although I have begun the process of attaining, will continue to require quite a bit of ongoing learning and ‘fine tuning’, not too unlike teaching. I am speaking of none other than my goal of learning to play the piano. Thank you to Mercy Romero….I am so happy to have met you and your family and I wish you all the best in your life. You afforded me a well needed respite from teaching in Abu Dhabi and gave me the freedom to pursue my goal of learning to play the piano on my own schedule and at times, wavering interest level (in other words, I could call Mercy and say, “ I am not going
MurshedMurshedMurshed

Final FUN days with my boys
to be able to make it this week. See you next week, or in two weeks” and she always obliged without any piano teacher lectures…lol).



Anyhow, I am done…KALAS and am currently on my way home (on my second flight from Brussels to Toronto as I type). I cannot wait to begin the next journey back home in Canada with my amazing, supportive, and lovable family and friends that await me there!



Thank you for taking the time to share my BLOG with me, and to those of you that have followed me throughout my journey in Abu Dhabi, an extended thank you. I have thoroughly enjoyed creating and documenting each entry along the way.

Goodbye and do enjoy some final photos I have attached. Don’t forget to read the captions 😊 I Also, I attached a link to video of my students final remarks about grade 3 - simply go to:



Enjoy!

MAá Salama (Goodbye)!



T xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

ObaidObaid
Obaid

Final FUN days with my boys
Abdulla AliAbdulla Ali
Abdulla Ali

Final FUN days with my boys
ShishaShisha
Shisha

A favourite past-time
Doug's 60thDoug's 60th
Doug's 60th

My friend Doug turned 60 in June 2013
Celebrating Doug's 60th ...Celebrating Doug's 60th ...
Celebrating Doug's 60th ...

...at the Beachcomber
Charles...Charles...
Charles...

...Karaoke rappin'
Relaxing in the whirlpool....Relaxing in the whirlpool....
Relaxing in the whirlpool....

....with Doug and Terri
Farewell Happy Hour....Farewell Happy Hour....
Farewell Happy Hour....

...at the Beachcomber :(
Workin' hard to get those abs...Workin' hard to get those abs...
Workin' hard to get those abs...

...lol Mercy photoshopped these next two photos for a birthday mini movie she made me


Tot: 0.117s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0635s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb