What's Goin' On in Abu Dhabi - Pre-Christmas Break Update - 2011


Advertisement
United Arab Emirates' flag
Middle East » United Arab Emirates » Abu Dhabi
December 10th 2011
Published: December 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Gun Dance...The Gun Dance...The Gun Dance...

....this student brought in his gun (not the shooting kind) and did a little performance for the class.
Hello,

Yes, it has been awhile since I have added another entry. Since my adventures are fewer and farther between, I thought I would add a few photos from the past couple of months here in Abu Dhabi.

We have been allotted a three-week break here for the holidays, which is even longer than the teachers back home. One of the wonderful perks of teaching!

I will be flying back to Canada from Dec. 17th-Jan.5th, and I am looking forward to adding another BLOG entry when I return from my holiday. I have rented a condo at a ski resort near Barrie, to spend Christmas and New Years with my family. So there should be some great pictures to share with you once I have returned.

Also in March, we have been allotted yet another two-week break......MAN, I love my job!! For that, we are in the midst of planning a trip around part of Europe. We will be beginning in Vienna, then on to: Prague, Munich, Berlin, Paris, Italy (Rome for sure!!), ending in Barcelona. All in just 12 days (looking into taking the ferry from Italy to Barcelona...which will be like a mini-cruise since it takes 20-hrs).

I will be adding a few entries to this BLOG from that adventure for sure! I am very excited about it....only 3 months away.....yeah, I know "one trip at a time"...LOL.

Well, enjoy the pictures and comments I have added (a couple more kayaking ones, since I love it so much, and a few of National day at my School, etc.).

I wish you all a Blessed and Joyous Christmas and Happy New Year!

Stay tuned for my post-Christmas entry in early January.

xo


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

My boys....My boys....
My boys....

....these are a few boys from my grade 2 homeroom class, prior to the National Day school celebration
More of my cuties....More of my cuties....
More of my cuties....

....or so they look.
Who other than 'Mohamed'...Who other than 'Mohamed'...
Who other than 'Mohamed'...

...(Mohamed R. to be exact......have to use the next name initial since I have 4 with the same name, and that is in just one of my classes....2 in the other one)
Dave (not sure of the guy in the middle - I think the school secretary) and Charlie...Dave (not sure of the guy in the middle - I think the school secretary) and Charlie...
Dave (not sure of the guy in the middle - I think the school secretary) and Charlie...

...they are my English teaching team....both from the states...we all teach grade 2 GREAT guys!
Charles our American Faculty Head...Charles our American Faculty Head...
Charles our American Faculty Head...

...the NICEST man you would ever want to meet, let alone work with
Tim (from Chicago) teaches grade 1 also... Tim (from Chicago) teaches grade 1 also...
Tim (from Chicago) teaches grade 1 also...

...took this shot since we were both in Emirate dress ...I wear an Abaya everyday now. that way I can wear anything I want underneath...wink,wink
Kayaking with SandraKayaking with Sandra
Kayaking with Sandra

...taught with Sandra my first year. Nice to spend time with her!
The Christmas Tree outside my church...The Christmas Tree outside my church...
The Christmas Tree outside my church...

...both a Nativity and tree in one...cool eh?
And finally, yet another huge step for mankind...And finally, yet another huge step for mankind...
And finally, yet another huge step for mankind...

...well for the UAE at least. The first Tim Horton's in Abu Dhabi....second in the UAE (the first was in Dubai).


Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb