Writers Block:


Advertisement
Published: March 31st 2011
Edit Blog Post

PosingPosingPosing

Serioulsy think we look like nickel back fans in this pic
Writers Block:

For some days now, I have felt blog deprived, yet I have not been able to make enough sense of anything that’s happened lately to actually put it down on paper, or in words. I also have come to the conclusion that part of my writers block was caused by the fact that I started to think with the mentality of having to write something “good”, “entertaining” “generalized”. When in actually fact the entire point of this blog is the fact that I can write whatever the hell I want in any context I want and so what?
So now I feel a lot better, I’m not trying to blog, I just am. So what’s news? Oh so much to tell and oh so many pictures to add. I FINALLY spent my off day the way it should be spent, not at home, doing washing and watching TV, but exploring the new country I’m in, exploring the different cultures and cities and things to do and so on. A friend of mine, and I have become rather close lately, spending a lot of time together which is nice because we intellectually keep each other entertained and challenged. We
posing 2posing 2posing 2

So I got to wear the hat in this one:-)
enjoy the same things and so on. I’m not sure I want a relationship with him, but what we have now is good, and I hope his not the type to want to label things.
So to start from the beginning, well a mate and I, couldn’t wait for payday to arrive as this month has been extremely difficult financially and we have been very depressed about life and such. So eventually payday arrived thank goodness, as I treat to ourselves we decided to go have some drinks at a bar close to our offices. It was Sunday night and she had her off day on Monday. We ended up having an amazing time with an amazing group of people and not getting out of our minds drunk just happy. That’s the way I like it, I’m not a fan of complete and total drunkenness.
So we met some people we haven’t met before and had a good evening. My friend actually ended up meeting a really amazing guy from Lebanon and he was just a genuine nice guy, on a working travel trip. He then invited us around the next night for a few drinks and maybe a movie,
The FerrariThe FerrariThe Ferrari

Yeah when I saw it, I just froze
which we did. The drinks sucked and the movie was even worse, but the laughter and good times made up for it ( I even got a compliment from some famous designer on my hair and style..Blush). My guy friend and me then retired back to his place, and watched some flicks, lay under the stars outside wrapped in blankets sipping on cranberry cocktails till we were so tired we almost slept outside. The next day I was treated to an amazing Fruit Salad Breakfast, with South African home grown and imported plums ( which made me miss home even more, but made me happy he’d been so thoughtful). We ended up with a Kiwi, Strawberry, Green Apple, Grapefruit, Plum Fruit Salad, it was amazing.
So after being lazy as hell for a few hours we showered got dressed and went on our journey of discovery. We went to Marina Mall in Abu Dhabi and I found a few little treasures ( including woolies aka a Woolworths-Sa Brand of Clothing and Food). That made me really happy. After some deciding and some lunch we then went to this place on the bay where you can watch people Jet skiing. And
He he heHe he heHe he he

If only.....
some Shish a ( South Africans call it hubbly bubbly) while you watch the sunset drinking your lemon mint juice. I was in heaven. I watched and photographed the day slowly ending, as the city adapted to the night air , the lights just lit up the place. The Palace is so beautiful at night, with its Red marble walls. After we had had enough hubbly and enough lemon mint tea we decided to go watch a movie. We never did watch the entire movie as my mind gets bored, and it ended up being a typical Matt Damon movie ( refer to my earlier post named: Typecasting). So we went to the top of Marina Mall to see the view. It was amazing, I am afraid of heights even though I hike mountains and climb etc. So as we were ascending I was okay, after about 30seconds I had had enough of being in the completely glass elevator and started getting light headed, thanks to my friend for calming me down, otherwise I would have most likely jumped ( or fainted ). When we got to the top, we sat down and seem our timing had been perfect as they started the firework show at the Palace, it was amazing.
So after a long hard day off we went home. The bus system here is extremely well run and it’s easy to catch one basically anytime of the day or night. So we decided to make use of the service. I am glad we did as I got to see a lot of the shops and streets and everyday Abu Dhabi common night life as we slowly made our way to the general depot bus stop. When we got home, I was treated to massage and the world’s most comfortable bed. Unfortunately I had work the next day so I had to rise and shine early and go home and pick some stuff up, drop some off and shower and change to catch the work bus.
Work went rather smoothly. I got to train a new Intern that’s with us at the moment. I say train but we basically laughed our day away, his super funny and intellectually as smart as a button and on the ball so we gel’d well and he was eager to learn and teach and share knowledge which was a great attitude. Tonight me
The fountain 1The fountain 1The fountain 1

Beautiful fountain in the middle of no where
and my friend ( let’s call him…Metro Man? Yes from The movie Mega mind, and it’ll be short to MM). We are hosting a bbq, or as South Africans call it, a BRAAI. We have invited some of our intern friends and some collogues and a colleague of ours who has actually been terminated and is leaving next week, so it should be fun. Activates start at 7pm but ill only finish work at 10pm, so I went over to see mm this morning. It basically took everything out of me as last night was the first night I’ve been home basically in a week’s time, and I had to do a round of washing, cleaning, sweeping, vacuuming etc. I finally went to bed at 4-5am to be woken by my roommates alarm at 7am, and then my other roommate returned from work at 8am this morning, to which I switched off my alarm and only got up and showered at 10am. I then caught a cab ( still a very new different experience for me here) and went to MM ‘ place for more fruit salad breakfast and to drop off my stuff for tonight, and well however long
The fountain 2The fountain 2The fountain 2

The fountain and some buildings behind it, the Palace is to the right but not in the pic and behind the water is the Hilton Hotel
I end up staying there . No problems as such this morning yet so Im pretty glad about that. I must be off however as its lunch time





Additional photos below
Photos: 14, Displayed: 14


Advertisement

PeacePeace
Peace

Just, some peace and quite
A pic of the bay viewA pic of the bay view
A pic of the bay view

A pic of the bay view where we watched Jet skiing and smoke our shisha
ShishaShisha
Shisha

The local Shi Sha, mine was strawberry flavored
Blowing smoke?Blowing smoke?
Blowing smoke?

Lol blowing straeberry smoke over my lemon and mint drink...
BoatBoat
Boat

Random Boat that was saved and restored and decortaed at the shisha resturant
NIight viewNIight view
NIight view

This is a pic of the bay at night:-) See how teh hilton in the middle glows
Bus StopBus Stop
Bus Stop

Waiting at the bustop


Tot: 0.106s; Tpl: 0.047s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.041s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb