Jet lag, Manchester, and free socks!


Advertisement
Published: May 13th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Airplane foodAirplane foodAirplane food

Arabian lamb leg tagine in Moroccon spices, vegetable couscous, and Arabic date cheesecake. They had a chicken option, but hey - why not just go for it? Bring me a leg of lamb!
Well I finally arrived in Abu Dhabi last night after a very long journey. I left Kansas City at 2:30pm on Saturday on an earlier flight than I originally planned, so that I could be sure to avoid bad weather and make my connecting flight. Long story short, leaving early was unnecessary as my next two flights were delayed and I arrived in Abu Dhabi at approximately 10:30pm on Monday night (UAE time).

The good news is that I spent yesterday in Manchester, England and I ended up running into some ladies from the airport in Philly, they live in KC and one of them used to work for Cerner! Anyway, we had dinner and drinks together and they were so fun…they are going on a tour of the English countryside, visiting places that Jane Austin wrote about. Of course we got along really well.

The flight to Abu Dhabi was great - amazing service from Etihad airlines! They hand out socks on the plane, which I couldn’t figure out until I realized that most Arab nations wear sandals primarily, due to the heat, so on the plane their feet get cold. Hence, free socks! Very fun cultural moment.
A shout out to Gladstone!A shout out to Gladstone!A shout out to Gladstone!

The hotel in Manchester had a conference room called the Gladstone. How come!?


I have slept for the past 12 hours but it still feels like 4am (which it is, for most of you). However, I am on my way to the office now to meet the folks that I will be working with and to get oriented. Tomorrow (Wednesday) will be my first full day of work. This weekend I hope to scour the markets (called souks) in search of your many and varied requests, such as gold camels with rhinestones, camel saddles, and camel salt & pepper shakers.





Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Free socks!Free socks!
Free socks!

My feet are nice and warm now, thank you Etihad airlines for anticipating my needs so thoroughly. Yes, these are my feet...even though the left one appears to be an entirely different shape!
My hotel roomMy hotel room
My hotel room

Home away from home. The bed is ridiculously flat, but I slept like a rock anyway.
Persian GulfPersian Gulf
Persian Gulf

This is a view of the Persian Gulf from my hotel room. My room faces north/northwest over Lulu Island - which is man-made.


Tot: 0.082s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0596s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb