One Month in Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
June 14th 2011
Published: June 14th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Almost a month gone already! I can hardly believe it. Time here just flies, I wake up in the morning and before I know it it is time to go to bed.

After some time spent getting the boat in order, we finally set sail just over a week ago and have been moving around non stop since. We took off from Alacati and headed to Kusadasi, Turkey to visit Hakan’s friends. We said goodbye to Gerdine, another friend who had been staying with us for a few days and made the trip to Kusadasi and then welcomed Carissa, who is my reciprocal on Ismail’s boat for the summer. Hakan, Carissa and I set off from Kusadasi hitting the islands of Samos, Agathonissi, Kalymnos, Pserimos and Kos and also stopped by the Turkish town of Bodrum for a few days.

Everyday we have been sailing for at least a few hours which usually pass the late morning and early afternoon hours. After we arrive in port we spend 30 minutes or so cleaning off the boat and getting everything put back together. Then most often we go for a walk or a swim or both before getting ready for dinner and having a bite. Then we sit up for a bit on the boat, listen to music and talk to our neighbors. All in all it is the easiest life you could ask for! I have done some sightseeing in Bodrum, bought a few souvenirs and just generally wandered.

Similar to Rarotonga I am always busy yet do not have much to show for it. Apart from some pictures and good times. But of course I am not complaining in the slightest! The islands are beautiful, the food is still delicious and the sailing has had some really incredible moments.

As much as I like it here I am missing a certain someone quite a bit……. A bit more than expected to be honest, so it looks like I will be heading to South Africa slightly earlier than planned, which is ok with me because it is another adventure!! There is already a plan for a road trip from Durban all the way up to Zambia which sounds absolutely amazing….. I can not wait. But for now I am living the life of a sailor, earning my sea legs and learning as much as I can.

Love to you all, hope to hear from you soon!

C


Advertisement



Tot: 0.147s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb