Initial Impressions


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
February 8th 2008
Published: February 8th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Again, this was written last night, so "today" means the 7th.

I walked down to the South Campus to register as an exchange student today, and it went smoothly, and I was able to meet some of the people from the Student Exchange in person. They were pretty easy to understand, and a junior showed me around South campus more formally after I registered. He pointed out the building I was probably going to have classes in, as it houses the history department (I’ll get a picture of it tomorrow, it’s more imposing than Holland). He then led around the back of one of the other smaller buildings, and over to a railing overlooking the Bosphorus (the body of water separating the European and Asian sides of Turkey from one another. He pointed out one of two watch towers (the other was on the Asian side) that were build in 1453 by the Turks to solidify their hold over the Bosphorus, and to keep Byzantine ships out and unable to help Constantinople. This one was very close to the South Campus, and there may be a way to get even closer, South Campus continues beyond where we were standing and looking, so I’ll have to check it out. Very cool stuff.

I’ve met a lot of people today. I found a couple of guys getting ready to go register, and we went as a group, though I don’t think either of them were able to register because they literally brought nothing with them (you needed a photocopy of your passport, additional passport pictures, and some other stuff to register) so we left at different times. Despite meeting a number of foreign students, I haven’t really found anyone to hang out with yet, which is kinda lonely, as I’m used to dropping by to see people whenever I’m bored. But it was only my first full day here, and my roommates should be here tomorrow, which will most likely be good, as everyone I’ve met so far has been really interesting and friendly.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 43; dbt: 0.0388s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb