Yahalli to Nidge, and still no Spider


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
December 20th 2006
Published: February 5th 2007
Edit Blog Post

I woke early with one thing in mind.

To find the freak. I sent a quick email to him, telling him what my story was.

Armed with a hand-drawn map of how to get to Adana I said goodbye to my new best friends and headed into the fray.

The terrain was pretty easy going but I was racked with terrible thoughts of what could have happened to Spider. I was also pissed at the apparent communication breakdown and that we had stuffed up so hard, so early on. My words of a few days earlier were ecohing in my head 'it would be sweet if the first few days are fair sailing, that would be a great start to the ride'.

I punched out about 40km's and after thinking every distant sign post or human looking object was Spider was getting more and more cut. The day passed quickly and at about 2pm I was on the outskirts of the industrial town of Nidge. I struck camp in an orchid grove in between a railroad and the highway. Mmmmm, serenity now!

Just before getting to sleep I got a message from Spider on my mobile. Azaar, he's alive. He said he was in Backirdagi (I didnt know where that was) and he would wait for me. After trying to ring and message the number it came from I got a sms back saying in broken english that 'your friend has ridden to Antakya'. I hoped against hope he would take the road I had taken. I fell asleep somewhat relieved but still a bit tense about tomorrow. I woke a few times in the night as massive cargo trains rumbled by, it felt like the world was collapsing. Note to self, dont sleep 10 metres from a railroad again.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 81; dbt: 0.0727s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb