Kas, Turkey - the off season experience


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Kas
October 12th 2011
Published: October 12th 2011
Edit Blog Post

I didn’t sleep very well last night; too much excitement with the horse-back riding and I could feel a cold coming on (due to all that sitting in wet clothes in the car for hours). When I woke up it felt like I had hardly slept at all. On top of everything it was raining outside, although all the forecasts on all the sites reported sun from Kas. I went for breakfast, then went back to the room to read my new “EU law research methodology” book and then fell to sleep again (yes, it was that good!). When I woke up it was noon, with greyish skies outside but at least no rain. I put on my training clothes and decided to take a walk out on the Kas Peninsula – big new development where there planning great big hotels and a lot of flash new houses.

On the way to the Peninsula you walk past the Apollo temple garden where there are 50 or so kitties so I decided to give them the Whiskas catfood I’ve been carrying around in my hand bag. When I came to the garden it was obvious that I was not alone in
Clever kittiesClever kittiesClever kitties

These clever kitties live in the garden of the Kas veterinary center.
this endeavour; there were coaches full of tourists with bags of cat food. What a relief, I am not the only crazy cat person in town. I walked on, passed the Kas hospital (the only building always lit even during all the power cuts) and the Amphi theatre and out towards Kas camping and Kas small boat marina. Suddenly I realised that I was no longer alone. At first exactly 10 steps behind me was a large black dog following me discreetly. No, it was not a symbolic Nick Drake or Winston Churcill kind of dog representing loneliness and depression (I haven’t been reading THAT much philosophy and Freud yet); It was a real life doggy. I walked on and he came closer; carefully sniffing my hand and then pressing on a couple of steps ahead of me. It was a nice healthy looking big boy dog with a collar and apparently he was on some kind on daily walk; he looked very determined. Now and then he stopped and waited for me and touched my hand with his nose. No, I wasn't feeding him; didn't want to encourage him to keep following me around. When we came to the
The outdoor gymThe outdoor gymThe outdoor gym

I had heard of this but did not believe it until I had seen it; an outdoor gym for all to use...Not exactly any ques lining up...
Kas small boat marina he ran down a small path among the bushes and I followed him. The path lead to a nice little pebble beach where I sat down, had some snacks and water and watched as the doggy who was playing and having a swim. I had a great view of the scull-shaped cliff formation called something like “the leaning man” or such, located in the mountain wall above Kas. Then it was time to go, the black dog decided. He barked and waited for me to follow so I did; this time heading back towards Kas. He followed me back all the way to the Amphi theatre and then just as suddenly as he first appeared he was gone again. For a short while I wondered if I had stared imagining things, but he did stick to the camera "film".

All of the sudden the weather had shifted; the greyish skies were gone and it was very sunny and warm. I decided to take another road back towards the hotel and stumbled on a jewellery shop with lots of nice things…I ended up buying a bronze choker with sweetwater pearls. After that it was definitely time
The black eyed dogThe black eyed dogThe black eyed dog

Suddenly I had company on my walk to the Kas Peninsula...
for lunch. I wanted a restaurant with no people and a nice view and found the lovely Dolphin Restaurant with a terrace overlooking the harbor. Also they had my favorite: fresh calamares – so it was a deal! Then, of course, once they got one guest everyone else also decided this was the place and soon the terrass was teaming. The calamares were delish!

Now it was getting far to sweaty to walk around in black jogging pants, long sleeved t-shirt and black rain jacket so I decided to go to the hotel and change into my swim stuff. (When the sun came out it was instantly 26-27 degrees Celsius. )

The rest of the afternoon was spent snoozing on a beach chair on one of the Aqua Princesses’ swim platforms with foam and waves sprinkling my legs with salty sea water. Now I am off down to have dinner. There has been a bit of Jane Austen-inspired drama developing with staff but I am trying to stay clear. I might just have to sneak out "on the razzle" in town.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

The scull in the mountainThe scull in the mountain
The scull in the mountain

Is this the original home of the Phantom and his male friend Guran with the skirt?
View from my lunch place; the Dolphin restaurantView from my lunch place; the Dolphin restaurant
View from my lunch place; the Dolphin restaurant

Great food, lovely views and cool music!
Balcony of the Queens barBalcony of the Queens bar
Balcony of the Queens bar

Listened to a cool band playing at the Queens bar this summer...


Tot: 0.155s; Tpl: 0.023s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.1112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb