Projects in full swing!


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Mediterranean » Antalya
June 27th 2008
Published: June 28th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Ships on the seaShips on the seaShips on the sea

Taken from Ben and Verna's place
It’s been a couple weeks since I wrote, so there is a bit to catch up on. I can’t believe I have been here for a month. Despite everyday being quite different with new surprises coming at me consistently, I’ve gotten used to a kind of basic routine. I’ve been enjoying walking a lot, usually at least 3-4 miles each day. Despite the heat and getting drenched in sweat, its more fun to walk to the rehab center than ride the dolmesh/bus because there are so many things to look at along the way- lots of window shopping, interesting people, and of course it’s good exercise. Sometimes I run in the morning or run to the sea for a short swim, but as it gets hotter it’s not enjoyable to run if I get up too late. The 4 girls from Seattle arrived a week and a half ago, and it’s been really great getting to know them a little and watching them go through the process that happens when you enter a new country for the first time. The language, the amazement with the differences of cultures, the learning to laugh quietly in public, the wonder of staring out over
Special Olympics swim meetSpecial Olympics swim meetSpecial Olympics swim meet

Forgot to mention in the blog entry that I attended a special olympics swim meet. One of the Curves employees coaches swimming for kids with special needs and she took me with her to a competition.
the sea... They absolutely love it here so far (with the exception of the heat) and are getting along well. They are staying 2 floors up in a beautiful apartment that Karn’s friend Marco decorated for them.

I have been spending 2 days a week at one center, and 2 days at the other. At both centers I attempted what was the first idea of parent groups- the goal to give them a chance to voice questions about difficulties they had managing their child with special needs. It started out a little rough, with inadequate translation and no structure. I’ve had a mix of feelings, from frustration when I had no idea what the parents were being told or what they even thought, to excitement when a parent seeked me out to ask me questions about her child. Through listening to their stories and talking with therapists and Verna, I learned that there is a different attitude about raising children in this country- the parents are easy on their kids by American standards. The are very loving but not very disciplinary, and the kids learn behavior and discipline when they start school. Because of this (one parent said she
Karn, Pinar, and IKarn, Pinar, and IKarn, Pinar, and I

A house warming barbecue for Tansule's Kres last week
didn’t want to be viewed as a bad parent by disciplining her child in front of other mothers) the children, especially those with special needs, are difficult to handle.

I had a fabulous translator at rehab center # 2 last week. Because nobody there with time to translate has adequate english skills, I told Verna found me the perfect person to help. An 11 year old girl who was born here, who’s family is from california but has lived here 12 years. Talya is an extremely loving, mature, patient, cute, and talented kid who is fluent in english and turkish. She spent her first couple days of summer vacation with me at one of the rehab centers and we had a blast! She did great with her 11 year old English and Turkish vocabulary translating what she could, even attempting therapy terms and adult vocabulary, and translating some small talk at tea time for me when I asked. She helped me lead the kids gymnastics classes which was a blast for her and I think she really enjoyed it. It was her first time around children with special needs, and I know it was eye opening for her, as she asked me all sorts of questions about the children, and thought, "Why these children, and not me? Why wasn't I born with a disability?" I could tell her heart was quickly going out to the special kids at the center.

I had the opportunity to talk with a psychologist at one center (with Talya translating) about a few things- 1. she wants to help us with the camp 2. She has done psychological evaluations on the parents of the children at the center and a large percentage of them came out as having depression- she recommended I do an activity with the parents that would improve their mental health, and help me gain their trust, before I came in and told them how to help their kids. I completely agreed with her. This led me to begin aerobics/relaxation classes with the parents instead of support groups, which have been a great success. 3. I learned that she is the one who evaluates all the children, administers standardized tests, etc, and then tells the teachers what to do with the kids. I knew the kids had to be evaluated somehow and this answered my questions about that. I watched
The silkworms hatched into The silkworms hatched into The silkworms hatched into

some sort of moth. Look closely to see the eggs they layed.
her administer an IQ test this week to an 8 year old boy also, and will have future opportunities to talk with her about what her other roles are.

Kids gymnastics (cojuck jimnastik) classes: I began leading gymnastics classes with kids 1-2 times per day at rehab center #2. The kids love it and so do I! I’ve had kids with MR, CP, down syndrome, deafness, hyperactivity, autism, and siblings of kids who recieve services at the center have also joined. There could be anywhere from 2 to 7 kids that attend. We’ve been doing other games too like duck duck goose, keep the balloon off the ground, follow the leader, and Brain Dance. Sometimes a teacher or 2 will get into it and join as well.

Parent/teenager aerobic (ile jimnastik) classes: I sat down with the parents with Talya translating, and attempted to get their input on how I could best serve their needs. One of the parents asked me what the room was set up for, and I said for the kids gymnastics classes. She thought maybe it was for parent gymnastics classes and that gave me an idea- I could lead an exercise class for parents! So, that day I began leading exercise/relaxation groups to improve the mental, physical and emotional health of the parents, and improve the attention, coordination, and fitness of the older kids. The first day I had 3 parents, and since then it has been increasing to a maximum number so far of between 10 and 15 parents and older kids. I play american music on my computer such as Jack Johnson, Late Tuesday, or country songs, and we start chair exercises and stretching, working up to simple dance steps and wall pushups, followed by stretching and deep breathing after the more strenuous moves. It’s fairly basic and simple, and I pretty much wing it each time! I’m going to work on planning a little better to coordinate the songs and the exercises, and make it into more of a routine. Yesterday a teenager with down syndrome didn’t get word that the group was starting, and after everyone left and I was cleaning up, she came running into the room crying and upset because she had missed the group. I tried to comfort her with a hug and asked if she wanted to do it now with me- she said “Hayir” (No) and ran downstairs- a minute later she came back up ready to do it. She must have asked her teacher for permission. So I turned on the music again and did a little private session with her. She was so happy, and I think I was even happier that she loves jimnastik class so much! Her teacher came up and cheered her on, until she had to leave because her service bus was leaving.

Behavior management classes: Rehab center # 1 wanted me to lead some sort of official group with the parents, since the first parent group was disorganized and didn’t feel like any of us were satisfied. Stella, the psychologist from Albania who interprets for me at that center, liked the idea of starting with behavior management since that’s what the parents seemed to be raising the most questions about. So I prepared a handout to be translated, using notes from school and suggestions from the book Disabled Village Children. Stella translated it and I think it was pretty helpful for the parents. Even though the groups still seemed disorganized this week, we got the opportunity to talk individually with mothers and offer suggestions to them in front of everyone. Our combined knowledge and presence with the parents helps them understand our suggestions and Stella thinks that having both of us there makes them more willing to try some of the techniques at home with their kids. One parent said she tried one of the techniques and “it worked” ! I learned a lot myself just from preparing the lecture, and have tried to practice the techniques on some of the kids in the gymnastics classes at the other center- because behavior management is not a strength for me in practice!

Teacher trainings: At lunchtime at rehab center #1 one day Stella said the teachers wanted to know about Sensory integration. So I spent lunchtime with Stella translating a mini presentation on Sensory integration to the teachers. The idea is completely new to them here and they were pretty interested. We hope to do more of these lunchtime groups in the next few weeks. I like it, because they are really interested and they have advanced training of their own so they understand the science behind the techniques and were interested in the details. It was fun to be able to bring knowledge to them that is still fairly new in America, but that is a foreign idea to them in Turkey, until now.

Wedding: One of the physiotherapists from rehab center 1 got married last weekend, and I went with the other physiotherapists to her wedding ceremonies in the village and the city. It was pretty neat to attend a village ceremony, participate in some dancing, and see what the traditional style is like. Not to mention the beautiful drive through the mountains to get to the village. It reminded me of Denali National Park a bit until we turned the corner and there was a field of crops and a bunch of black goats crossing the street in front of our car! In the city (modern) celebration the next day the bride and groom were presented in modern dress and had a giant wedding cake. The gifts consist of golden rings or actually money, pinned over the bride and groom’s shoulders in a long chain. The physiotherapists were asking what weddings were like in America so I got to explain a little about our diverse style of weddings. I really enjoy hanging out with these physiotherapy people. They are so willing to
Kemer and his wifeKemer and his wifeKemer and his wife

Kemer is a physiotherapist, and his wife does marketing and design for a grocery store company in Turkey
work with me and like discussing therapy techniques. They’re happy to have someone to practice their limited English skills on, and I’m happy to learn Turkish from them too. And they were so great to take me along to see the wedding ceremonies- fun times! Tonight we went to dinner with a physiotherapist, his wife, and his sisters and brother in-law who are also therapists. His brother is a hand therapist who has been working for 12 years in the field, and who has even attended hand therapy conferences in the United States. I hope to be able to talk to him more and maybe see the clinic where he works in the city of Denizli.

Pictures- I haven’t many at the rehab centers and of the kids but next week I’ll get some of the gymnastics and aerobics classes.

Camp- Verna thinks with Rehab center 1 moving into the new place and her being super busy this month, the camp planning is being put on hold until August. We are definately working with this rehab center 1 on the camp though, and the owner of the center is pretty into it. He will show us the location
The other physiotherapistsThe other physiotherapistsThe other physiotherapists

Engan, and another therapist who works at a different location.
soon so we have a better idea of the space. Many details still have to be sorted out. A special education teacher from Seattle is coming after I leave, and she will be here for a year working with the centers and helping with the continued camp planning. My silk worm cocoons- hatched! See pictures.

Tansule's daycare (Kresh)- this is where the girls from Seattle are doing Kids Kulture Club. She wants me to lead sports for the kids on thursdays fridays. Today I went out to see the materials and space that are available for me to do it. I think it will be a blast with the kids!

Down time: believe it or not, I have a considerable amount of down time, and I’m trying to not let this bother me, but use it as a chance to think, pray, read, and slow down.

Enjoy the pictures, more to come. Miss you all!

Kim




Additional photos below
Photos: 21, Displayed: 21


Advertisement

Kemer and his wife BalcaKemer and his wife Balca
Kemer and his wife Balca

Waiting for Durdana's modern wedding in town to start
The modern weddingThe modern wedding
The modern wedding

Cake, bride, and groom
One of the kids at the rehab centerOne of the kids at the rehab center
One of the kids at the rehab center

This child is deaf and he was having a blast during some down time playing with my camera taking goofy pictures
Image of the sea with the humidity factorImage of the sea with the humidity factor
Image of the sea with the humidity factor

It was over 100 degrees today
Looking over the sea at dinnerLooking over the sea at dinner
Looking over the sea at dinner

From a restaurant in Kalaci, the old city
Girls from seattle meet therapy friendsGirls from seattle meet therapy friends
Girls from seattle meet therapy friends

We had a fabulous time getting to know these people. Present is Kemer and Balca, his sisters and brother in law, the Seattle girls and I at a place in the old city


17th July 2008

love your pics!
This is amazing Kimberly! I wish I was there with you. Can't wait till next year! Love and miss you tons. Mom

Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.021s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0485s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb