Earthquake?


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Black Sea » Amasya
October 24th 2011
Published: October 24th 2011
Edit Blog Post

When I checked my email this afternoon I was surprised to see so many messages asking me if I was okay. I’d only been offline for two days. I’d gone much longer stretches without contact before and no one seemed to mind. It was only when I got to the sixth message that someone said something about an earthquake. Suddenly, it clicked. People had more reason than usual to think that I might be in danger, and they were worried.

I assure you that I am okay. I was hundreds of kilometers away – safe, and blissfully ignorant – from the epicenter of the earthquake that rocked eastern Turkey on Sunday. It was never part of the “plan” to travel that far east (practically Iran), and now I will avoid it all the more, so please don’t worry about me being trapped by any aftershocks. My heart goes out to all of those who were injured and/or lost loved ones.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.06s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 31; dbt: 0.0315s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb