You CAN get the Orient express to Turkey


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Koycegiz
June 27th 2008
Published: June 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Hi,

Sorry for the radio silence, I am alive and kicking in Turkey!

Following an exciting and communist collector item fuelled trip to Sofia (and a trip to the beautiful mosiac filled Rila Monastary), I got the remainder of the Orient Express to Istanbul.

Apparently there was drama at the Turkish border at 3am, and lots of American tourists complaining that the border guard had taken their passports and *shock horror* they were out of sight (in the polis station).
I missed the whole thing by sleeping with earplugs, waking up with 10 mins to train departure time, sauntering out and getting my visa and stamp while the Americans were running around the platform like headless chickens. They were all traumatised. Poor things.

So, the heat of Turkey! Delicious delicious Turkey. Home to Baklava, Turkish delight (and evil Turkish delight sellers), Kebabs and Hobby bars (choclatey nougaty goodness).
I fortuitously managed to time my trip to Istanbul to coincide with the quarter finals of the Euro 2008 Football, which was MENTAL! Think boring boring boring - last minute goal in extra time (for those who didn't watch the game) then a penalty shoot out and FLARES and Fireworks and Turkish flags and crowds rocking cars. Fortunately I didn't have to get up for anything the next day, so managed not to see very much of Istanbul apart from backgammon games and the covered bazaar until the intrepid and adventurous Mai Ledinh flew in from London and changed everything!

Well...she changed everything in a good way, making me get off my bum and go and see the Aya Sofia, the Blue mosque and all the other delights (including Turkish delight!) of Istanbul. We had the pleasure of Drew's company (thanks for putting up with us!) and surprisingly few hobby bars.

Then a crazy early start to Gallipoli, which was peaceful and beautiful and surprisingly free of Turks saying 'Ha ha, we won!'
Photos will be uploaded at some point (I know I keep promising) of us in the horse at Troy, Mai checking out Hadrian's arse at Pergamon and me generally being an idiot. Look out for them!
Sadly, Mai only had a week in Turkey, so following some incredibly hot, 40+ degree, long bus rides and more ancient sites than you could poke a stick at, we had to say goodbye. 😞
Saying goodbye makes me miss everyone at home and in London - but in true nomad style, I'm back on the bus and tomorrow I get on a gulet in the Mediterranian. Can't wait for the cruising and the chilling out.

Thanks for the messages! Keep emailing.



Advertisement



28th June 2008

Hot hot heat
Enjoy the heat! There is none of it here! How i miss being in Turkey. Enjoy it for me.. i hope you got to see the underground cistern in Istanbul, it's maybe one of the best things there.. oh so cool and relaxing! Dan

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 11; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0503s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb