Chillax by the Mediterranean


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Fethiye
June 11th 2011
Published: June 19th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Finally a Day for relaxing! We didn’t have anything planned for the day so we just did what we felt like doing. Which turned out to be exploring the town of Fethiye and then swimming in the Mediterranean sea afterwards. Hasan was very nice and drove us into town (he had to get the heater in the bus fixed because it kept on blowing out hot air and we couldn’t turn it off, so he drove us in before taking the bus to the shop). We then lazily wandered around the town, I wanted to buy a dress but nothing was striking my fancy. Steph is obsessed with the “happy pants” (they are Turkish pants that are baggy and tapered at your ankles, but the actual crotch of the pants hangs down very low, and the look sooooo comfy!) but she couldn’t find any either so we both went back empty handed but had a great time exploring around town with the group.
We met Hasan after he got the bus fixed (yay!) and then went back to the hotel to gather our things because Hasan was driving us to the beach (I could get used to this service, ahem, yes driver . . to the beach please). The beach was very pretty, but there was typical Turkish sand - instead of smooth sand there are lots of pebbles, and it kind of hurts to walk on them, so we all looked really funny trying to get into the water. Another thing I have never experienced in my life before is the buoyancy of the water! There was so much salt in the water that you just floated without even trying, it was quite an interesting feeling when you try to dive down and you can feel the resistance against you, and you just bob back up when you want to rise to the surface.
We ate lunch at the beach and lounged around; we had to get back by a certain time since Steph and Josh were leaving that afternoon for the Greek Islands, they were such a nice couple and quite the characters, they will certainly be missed!
We got back to the hotel and the have it set up so you could not get on the internet in your room, only in the common room/bar area (which is annoying, but at the same time it gets everyone out
Marcus made it!Marcus made it!Marcus made it!

His first night in Turkey
of their rooms and socializing). I looked on facebook and to my surprise Marcus has been updating that he is in Fethiye! ( I was very confused since I thought he was supposed to be meeting me in Olympos). I start commenting on his status saying that I am in Fethiye but leaving for Olympos in the morning and I think he might have gotten his dates messed up, but no, he was surprising me by coming early. The thing was I had no idea how to tell how to get to the hotel we were staying at. (I have the lovely service of having a driver) Luckily, Taylee paid attention while we were driving into town and she knew exactly where he was. Skype was giving us major problems, so Taylee typed in that we were coming to meet him and for him to start walking down the hill.
Taylee and I set off to find Marcus (it is very close to dinner time at this point and we were having a few beers so we took those along with us as well). We get to the point where we were supposed to meet Marcus and he is not there, uhoh, I don’t have any way of getting in touch with him other than walking the 10 min back to the hotel and getting back online, but just as we had turned around to start walking back to the hotel, Taylee turns around and ask me if he has glasses, and I say Yes! And there he was! Yay! He made it!
We got back and they have already started serving dinner. Marcus sits down and he looks like he has been run over by a bus. I tell him that he can go to sleep but he wants to stay up and have a beer! He was such a champion. After dinner Fatih teaches me more Turkish along with a few Turkish tongue twisters, and I came back with Sally sell sea shells, how much wood can a wood chuck chuck, and the Peter Piper tongue twisters, I am sure everybody else who was in the hotel common room was wondering what crazy pills we were taking. It was another wonderful Turkish night spent outside. The next day we head to Olympos!

B

Advertisement



Tot: 0.236s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.1245s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb