Ephesus


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey » Aegean » Akbük
July 10th 2011
Published: July 10th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Dear Friends & Family,
I think some of my technical problems have been solved. We are staying at the Kismet Hotel, a very luxurious hotel right on the Aegean. I have a room with two balconies, one overlooking the beautiful city of Kusadasi, formerly ancient Ephesus, and one with a great view of the Aegean. I took a mini bus into the city tonight to try and find a new battery. Not only did I get a battery but I met some very nice people. I was a little nervous taking off by myself but everyone from the man at the bus stop to shop keepers to the bus driver were incredibly gracious! Right now if you ask me what my favorite thing about Turkey is, the people would win hands down.

Ephesus is the city that the apostle Paul wrote four of his epistles from. Tradition has it that John brought Mary here at the end of her life. The Temple of Artemis was also here, and was one of the seven wonders of the world. We will be getting up early tomorrow to beat the heat to visit some of the historical sights here.

I apologize again for no pictures. There is always a line for the hotel computers so I don't feel right about taking time to download pictures. The Turkish prompts are also very difficult for me to figure out. I will download pictures on my return home. I hope this note finds you all well. Until later - Mrs. Ellsworth (Mom, Grandma, Patty)

Advertisement



Tot: 0.277s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.2107s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb