Hama


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria
May 15th 2008
Published: May 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

So after my last entry I went to find some lunch on the way I bumped into one of my roommates who suggested the cafe in the botanical gardens as it did good chicken sandwiches! Thinking that this would be a sandwich rather than a shwarma I merrily headed over there. My first upset was that they had no chicken left so I ordered another sandwich and much to my dismay I found that it was very shwarma like and totally not what I was expecting! Despite not eating much Arabic food per se I am beginning to crave the odd English food and some random ones as well I shall be pigging out on my return!

Anyhow got back to the hotel to collect my luggage and meet up with Paulina so we could share a taxi to the bus stop. The first taxi we got into said that his meter wasnt working so we said okay we will pay 65 SYP he said la 150 SYP at which point we promptly got out of the taxi took our luggage and got into the next taxi whose metre was running - the total fare came to 55 I think so we gave 70 pounds!

Anyhow found the ticket station and bought my ticket which came to 150 SYP and got on the bus we moved of eventually at which point a man came down offering toffees and water! Very unlike the English service a movie was then put on and the journey continued and it continued and it continued! Twas a very boring road as the two hours was very similar scenery very barren and boring. Eventually we got to Hama and I took a taxi to the hotel where I checked into the dorm room which is very nice and I eventually went for a wander where I saw my first Noria's these were turning and the noise they made was incredible loud groaning and so on. There was a fair ground atmosphere around with lots of people taking pictures and so on.

There is a queue for the computer so I shall update more later



Advertisement



21st May 2008

what's a Noria?

Tot: 0.078s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0499s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb