This weekend (Thursday afternoon to Sunday)


Advertisement
Syria's flag
Middle East » Syria » South » Damascus
June 18th 2006
Published: June 18th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I did more exploring the past few days. Thursday evening I went to the Citadel and the Ummayed Mosque around sunset. I got some good pics, some of which I'll post. The Citadel isn't all that impressive but the Mosque is just awe-inspiring. It is enormous and so beautiful. Words really cannot explain is and pictures don't really do it justice either. But, for those of you who can't make the trip to see it on your own I took lots to show you. Thursday night we also had a small get together and had some fun listening to music and the like.

Friday was a pretty dead day. Most of my friends went to Aleppo but I wasn't exactly invited. Oh well. I slept in and lounged around all day. Saturday I decided that I didn't want to sit around all day again so I took a day trip to Bosra. Bosra is about an two hours to the south and east by bus, near the Jordan border. It is a large town of ancient ruins including, I believe, the largest and best kept Roman theater still existing. The entire town was beautiful and I have many pictures. Saturday night when I returned I watched the USA match with a bunch of my newly made Syrian friends. It was quite an experience.

Today, Sunday, I don't have anything planned except some homework I have for class tomorrow. Just relax and study. I feel like I am learning more from everyday life and the locals than from class. Well, time is up so I'm going now, more to come soon In Shah Allah (God Willing)!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 48, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.039s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0199s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb