Photos to Music


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
May 25th 2009
Published: May 25th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I know that I haven't had much to say lately. It’s been pretty much all work and no play, so I don’t want to bore you to death with that. Although it’s a bit of an oxymoron, happy Memorial Day.

Pat is a Mac freak and has had some fun taking my photos from February, April, and the ones in Qatif and Tarut and has made a montage movie from them. And it’s all set to some really rocking pseudo-Arabic music. It might take a few minutes to stream down to you, but it’s kind of fun. Here’s a list:

Thank you for reading this blog. So far, I’ve had an incredible total of 4809 hits to my blog pages.
Thursday evening should be interesting. I’ve been invited to the American Consulate in Dhahran by the Vice Consul of Economic and Consular Affairs. It’s Salsa Night at the consulate. Stay tuned for details.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



25th May 2009

4908 hits...almost like susan boyle
Ted: Wow, so many hits. I actually fooled around with the blog web site and when you search for blogs from Saudia Arabia you and one other guy comes up. Your blog blows him OUT OF THE WATER. So glad you are coming to NY. Need you to take a pix of me for mom. My webcam experiment took a good pix but forgot about the pixel thing and when it is blown up, it looses a bit of clarity. Keep having fun for us and thanks for the food pix.
25th May 2009

Very cool, Ted! The food pic is much appreciated (is that peanut sauce in the cup?). Cannot wait to hear about the embassy dinner. Am trying to picture the embassy crowd doing the salsa. Hmm....maybe best not to!
25th May 2009

Food Mystery
Actually, it's bowl of creamy crab soup. There are soups every day, but usually I skip them. But I couldn't resist this one. The embassy "dinner" is actually more drinking than eating, I think. Since it is American territory, it's the one legal place to drink in The Kingdom. I think "salsa night" is an excuse to drink margaritas.
26th May 2009

Greeeeeennnn
The "movies" were fascinating, but I really noticed the lack of green! I think I would come screaming back to Missouri -- "give me my trees!" Still, what an adventrue you've been on. thanks for taking us along with you.
26th May 2009

I just want to be green
Yes, Tina, you are absolutely correct. You don't notice while in "camp" because they have so much greenery here at Aramco. But as soon as you leave, you see how monochromatic it really is. The buildings tend to be tan, as does everything else. And the traditional dress is either white or black. The most colorful things, I think, are the signs on the shops; they always seem to have graphic images under the text.

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0642s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb