No Cheese Bread For You!


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
April 29th 2009
Published: April 29th 2009
Edit Blog Post

The top of a Dessert CakeThe top of a Dessert CakeThe top of a Dessert Cake

Too pretty to eat!
Today was a really good day. Not only is it the weekend tomorrow (TGIW), but today was a really fun day too. For the first time while here, I conducted two 45-minute training sessions. As Andy Oman will tell you, give a trainer a stage and you give him (or her) the world.

I have to admit that I was a bit nervous standing in front of a group of Saudis talking about “Preparing for Feedback” but it went very well. I felt like I was connecting with them and they were engaged. I know I was! After a long time of conducting training sessions via phone and LiveMeeting it was a real treat standing in front of real live people. LiveMeeting training often has all of the charm of talking to a bulletin board for two hours. So conducting four of these sessions per week will now be added to my agenda.

Tonight a group of us went to Dhahran Hills, which is like a suburb of Dhahran. It’s still in the Aramco compound, but about 10 minutes away. Well, it would be 10 minutes away if we could get there without 15 U turns (make a left
Lou-Anne at the SAC CenterLou-Anne at the SAC CenterLou-Anne at the SAC Center

This woman saves my life 10 times a day!
at the sand dune, past the palm tree, go to right of the mosque and toward the mosque that is on the left of the mosque). You take Canyon Blvd to Rolling Hills, to Golf Course Rd, to Riyadh Rd, to Peninsula Blvd in some order or the other and you eventually get there. Poor Pat. There were six of us who wanted to go and the car only (barely) holds five, so there were two of these trips for him. And no two trips are the same! It’s near the Hobby Farm (sort of), but no one knows how to get there either.

Anyway, when I went in February, they had stopped cooking the cheese bread. And, of course, they are known for their cheese bread. And they were also out of Shawarma sandwiches, so what’s the point.

Here’s how it works: You stand on line to order food and pay (this is the first thing you do). I was handed three receipts (one for pop, one for Shawarma sandwiches (sort of like a gyro sandwich), and one for cheese bread). I was also handed one round ticket with a number and one square ticket with a number. The receipts also had the same numbers on them as the tickets. Except for the receipt without a ticket, which of course didn’t have a number. That one is for pop.

I then stood there looking stupid until someone took pity on me and pointed me to the Shawarma line. I figured I’d keep the receipt and give them the number, or keep the number and give them the receipt. Of course that’s wrong. You just stand there and listen to them call number 32 (I was 86). It’s a long, long, long wait. Finally my number was called and you hand them both the receipt with the number on it, and the square printed number. Why? Who knows.

Then it’s time to go 20 feet back to where the register is and do the same dance at the Cheese Bread station. After waiting since Labor Day at the Shawarma place, I figured I’d be at the head of the line. That myth was shattered when he called 72 and I was 91. So there is lots of time to take some photos (attached). And lots of time to learn how to make cheese bread. Here’s how you do it. You take a ball of dough and spin it around sort of pizza style. You get that all nice and stretched out. Then you add a square of dough that must be for stability, or perhaps a way to use up yesterday’s dough. Then you add a filling. Apparently “cheese bread” can have minced meat and vegetables, or bananas and honey, or cheese. Or maybe any combination of these.

You then fold it a few times and slap it on a hot metal grill. You then turn down all of the people with the wrong numbers. No cheese bread for you! I swear this guy sounded like and looked like the soup Nazi from the Seinfeld episode. People would hold up their numbers and look pitiful. No cheese bread for you! As each batch disappears, you wonder if that’s the end of the cheese bread (like what happened to me in February). Then he turns to the cashier and says “no cheese bread for anyone.” Some people order cheese bread for an entire village. “I’ll have 4326 cheese breads. To go, please.” But I was lucky. I got the cheese bread!

So now it’s time
Hamour and SoleHamour and SoleHamour and Sole

The hamour is a very common and good fish. The Dover Sole is stuffed with lobster. No wonder it was so good!
to go to the soda pop line. Fortunately, that’s only an hour wait. I asked for Diet Pepsi and got a can of Coke. I returned to the pop line (Pat warned me that I’d need a return ticket), but once again I was lucky and returned the Coke for a Diet Pepsi. Success.

Attached is photo of the cheese bread, which looks very attractive, as well as me eating it. To tell you the truth, it wasn’t all that great! It’s not the cheese bread, it’s the journey.



Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Rashid MallRashid Mall
Rashid Mall

Anthea and I took a field trip to Rashid Mall to buy office supplies. There doesn't seem to be a Target anywhere!
More DessertMore Dessert
More Dessert

The cake is the same one as the first photo. You didn't think that was all there was for desert, did you?
Smoked SalmonSmoked Salmon
Smoked Salmon

The smoked salmon is amazing.
Sweet and Sour Sweet and Sour
Sweet and Sour

Chicken and Fried Rice Just for variety.
Steamed VeggiesSteamed Veggies
Steamed Veggies

Needless to say, I skipped this.
My LunchMy Lunch
My Lunch

Steak and Potatoes, Sweet and Sour Chicken, Fried Rice, Salad and a Diet Pepsi
Starting the Cheese BreadStarting the Cheese Bread
Starting the Cheese Bread

They take the balls of dought and start to stretch it out.
Stretched Out with Filler PieceStretched Out with Filler Piece
Stretched Out with Filler Piece

I think the filler piece is for strength.
ToppingsToppings
Toppings

This cheese bread has minced beef and veggies. No cheese of course.
Folding the Cheese BreadFolding the Cheese Bread
Folding the Cheese Bread

This one was mine. With just cheese. I didn't know when I ordered that the cheese bread doesn't have to have cheese.
Eating the Cheese BreadEating the Cheese Bread
Eating the Cheese Bread

Warning: This photo is not to be viewed by cardiologists. Or even people who know cardiologists.
The spit holds the roasted sharmaThe spit holds the roasted sharma
The spit holds the roasted sharma

It's headed by electric coils.


29th April 2009

Just Skip on By the Healthy Food!
Who needs it with all the other fabulous looking stuff! It's just space waster. Totally LOL about the cheese bread. It sure LOOKS good--what a bummer it wasn't worth the wait. OK, I don't know how all of you get any work done after eating all that food, much less how people don't weigh 800 lbs! Great story and pics!
29th April 2009

Pretty Cheesy
Ted: Great food blog. We would like you to send us 4 orders of cheese bread please. E and M
30th April 2009

You remind me of Rick Steves
Ted: All this wonderful food and descriptions reminds me of Rick Steve"s travelogues==but where are the fine wines??
30th April 2009

Request For Cheese Bread
No cheese bread for you!
30th April 2009

Fine Wines?
Have you learned nothing grasshopper? Fine Wines? The place to go of course, is Bahrain! However, thanks for the Rick Steves reference.
28th February 2012
Folding the Cheese Bread

Help
Ive been looking for this for along time i was raised eating cheese and bread from saudi arabia! do you know what kind of cheese and bread it was? Thanks
2nd March 2012
Folding the Cheese Bread

Cheese Bread
Thank you for taking the time to read my travel blog. I just saw your comment about eating cheese bread. The best cheese bread I found was in Al-Khobar in the Eastern Province. The restaurant is called Latif Pastry and it has wonderful cheese bread. My favorite was the Zatar Cheese for only 3 SR. Please click on the link below to see my blog entry about Latif: http://www.travelblog.org/Middle-East/Saudi-Arabia/Khobar/blog-395191.html The cheese bread in the blog entry that you noticed was a place within the Saudi Aramco compound. The dough is very similar to pizza dough. I'm not sure what kind of cheese it was, but it was similar to chedar cheese.
18th July 2012
The finished product!

So delicious!!!
I miss them!! I grew up eating them!!!

Tot: 0.142s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 8; qc: 72; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb