Food Photos!


Advertisement
Saudi Arabia's flag
Middle East » Saudi Arabia » Dhahran
April 27th 2009
Published: April 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I’ve been asked quite a few times why I’ve abandoned my food descriptions and photos, so this entry will try to make up a bit for lost time. Here are a few meals worth of photos from the last couple of days at the SAC Center.

By the way, if you haven’t read my Dammam entry from yesterday, please take a look because that was a really interesting place to visit. So have a look!

I’m also including a photos of a few of the participants from today. As you can see, there is a mix of western and Saudi dress. This is pretty typical and I’d say it runs perhaps 60%!w(MISSING)estern and 40%!t(MISSING)raditional.

Announcement Alert: I have agreed to do the May SAC sessions. That means I’ll get home on Thursday, May 7 and fly out the following Wednesday, May 13. I will then be here until June 4. However, Linda and I are working on the possibility of having her join me in Amsterdam in June. Whoops, I haven’t run this by my boss at PDI yet. Molly, do you have a link to this blog?



Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement

Arabic coffee and datesArabic coffee and dates
Arabic coffee and dates

You can always count on this being served.
My Dinner Plate (Sunday)My Dinner Plate (Sunday)
My Dinner Plate (Sunday)

Chicken Curry, tomatoes with pesto sauce, and salmon. Note the Diet Coke can in Arabic.
Bagels, cream cheese and loxBagels, cream cheese and lox
Bagels, cream cheese and lox

Back by popular demand (my request!). P.S. They don't call it lox here!
Fruit kabobs, FRESH Orange Juice and mini-doughnutsFruit kabobs, FRESH Orange Juice and mini-doughnuts
Fruit kabobs, FRESH Orange Juice and mini-doughnuts

The fresh squeezed OJ is worth the trip!
Flled Mini-breadsFlled Mini-breads
Flled Mini-breads

They have this almost every day at breakfast. There are various fillings.
BBQ Chicken and Mashed PotatoesBBQ Chicken and Mashed Potatoes
BBQ Chicken and Mashed Potatoes

The steam from this kept fogging my camera lens. Oh, what I do for ya'll!
Kim the CatererKim the Caterer
Kim the Caterer

Kim takes a break
Chocolate covered cream puffsChocolate covered cream puffs
Chocolate covered cream puffs

They have a fancy word that the Europeans call it. But they should see the ones at the Wisconsin State Fair!


27th April 2009

May i have some more please
Looks to me like the reason you keep going back to SA is the food. Wow. I did have leftover stir fry today. Nice pics. keep up the good work. Jim
27th April 2009

Yay--the food is back!
And it's almost to gorgeous to eat! What's shrimp katsu--did you try it? Details, please. Well done on the food update!
27th April 2009

Food, Food, Food!
Ted: Can't get enough of that Saudi food. Gracias!
27th April 2009

Food Excellent
Great job with the food blog. Keep them coming. More hummus and tabooli.
27th April 2009

Food
One for all and all for food! Don't forget to get the recipes. Love, Mom
28th April 2009

Idea!
That food looks AMAZING! See if you can convince those chefs and caterers to fly to Minnesota for our wedding. We could offer them walking tours of the MN lakes, directions to the Mall of America, and maybe a Twins game in exchange! What do you think?
28th April 2009

Wedding Caterers?
I know that Kim would come over in a heatbeat. Yes, I think you are onto something, Jess!
28th April 2009

Food, glorious food
Perhaps I should just do photos of the food and call it a day! :)
28th April 2009

Shrimp Katsu
It's a shrimp and rice with some different nuts in it. It sort of tastes like curry. Today was shrimp katsu. Very tasty!
28th April 2009

Ted, we miss you back here in MN, plus, it's always so quiet in the office when I get in. Anyway, the food looks delicious and I'm very jealous you get to try amazing, new things. Hope your "trip" continues to go well!
28th April 2009

Susan's First Comment
Thanks, Susan. Yes, it can be lonely at 7 am! I miss you guys too. Thanks. Please be sure to say hello to Henrieta (my jade plant). Marianne is kindly babysitting her while I'm gone. Cheers. P.S. I know that you would love the food -- I think you are my food twin.
29th April 2009

pass the curry please!
I just had left-over macaroni and cheese for lunch. Not that I'm complaining, but man! I didn't know what I was missing. Mmmm --mmm. And I definitely want an invitation to Jess's wedding if these guys cater!
29th April 2009

Wedding Invite
If you can convince them to caterer (and pay for their own transportation and lodging, of course), I will personally deliver your invitation! :)
10th August 2012

masa aala sbudi arb food or very tasti we like.food

Tot: 0.165s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.1308s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb