More of the Usual


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
August 23rd 2014
Published: August 23rd 2014
Edit Blog Post

The only thing that has really changed much in the last few months is that we've hired new Project Managers, which means that I have new people to play with. So, life has been a bit more interesting and I don't feel the need to go to Dubai every other week anymore. In fact, I have not been to Dubai in about six weeks, which is very unusual, but for once, I am ok with it.



Work, as usual, has been busy with lots of ongoing projects, rig breakdowns, and troublesome clients. I think this is by far the most depressing part of my job: the clients. I have a few amazing clients that talk to me like a professional or a person. But there are some clients who treat me like a dog. I actually had one client say to me "Me Contractor! You Subcontractor!" and followed that with a "Shut up!" And these are western people who would never dream of behaving that way in the western world, but it is accepted here. Sorry, I do NOT accept that. Treating me like crap does not make me want to help you. If you're going to yell
Fuwairit beachFuwairit beachFuwairit beach

My boys hanging out
at me even when it is obvious that I am trying, then why would I continue to try? Instead, I'll try for the clients who do actually want to work WITH me and who will actually pay us without fighting.



I had another bout with two clients this week in much the same manner. One of the more frustrating things here is the lack of practicality when it comes to projects. Clients have a checklist and they tick off the boxes one by one with no regards as to why. The "why" is not important in the least. The contents of the report are not important in the least. So, this week really depressed me. Like really bad. But, fortunately, the upper bosses of one these people was contacted and a little more realistic than my usual contact, so that was a big weight lifted. The other upper boss will be involved on Sunday; since we have been dealing with these people for so long and nothing has changed, I doubt anything will come of this. Oh well - they get sidelined, right?



Besides work, I've been having a bit more fun with life. I've been to a new beach in northern Qatar a few times, Fuwairit. This is the place to be on the weekends, apparently. To get to the good, more private spots, you need 4-WD to get through the sand. The place is always so incredibly crowded, but everyone is having a good time. The water is quite warm and salty, however, but still fun to go for a swim. The only drawback? Trash. Trash is everywhere. It is really disgusting. It washes in from the water. People just drop trash on the beach. No one seems to clean up after themselves except for us. I would love to just take a giant bag and pick up a ton, but I know it will do no good - it will just be back the next weekend. Seriously, the first time in the water I actually was standing on a car mat. Ugh!



I've also been able to go out a little more. The Belgian Cafe is a fun, normal place to hang out, even though it is super loud and smokey. The Kempinski has a nice lounge to chill. We went to the Grand Hyatt last weekend for a yummy brunch (bought by my boss - I need to give him some money I think...). Then we went to the Rugby Club where my other boss's friend was performing - he played a lot of cover songs with his guitar and it was a great time.



One cool thing we have also done recently was head out to the desert to watch the Perseid Meteor Shower! We woke up at midnight and I drove west along Salwa Road before taking a little travelled road to Umm Bab. Actually, it was well travelled at night by giant trucks! Plus, the spot we picked was near big electric lines, so we heard trucks and the zzzzzzz'ing of the lines all night long. A little surreal. Still cool though. We parked along the side of the road and started to head into the desert; it was the super moon so the landscape was well lit. The most unusual thing happened though: a land cruiser who had been probably topping 200 kph suddenly stopped and turned around and came off roading towards us. I was a little wary, but the guy just asked us if everything was ok. Weird!
Dead sea snakeDead sea snakeDead sea snake

They're out there....
And very friendly! I often forget that while these local guys often are more than willing to run you off the road in town, they can be very help full off-road elsewhere. It was a very nice reminder. So, we continued on, laid out one of my old blankets and laid back to watch the show. I think I saw a total of 7 stars after more than three hours and the guys saw even less. What a bummer. I think the moon was just too bright. Still kind of fun though!



Finally, my road to Qatar residency is underway as I finally had my degree attested and got my medical on Thursday. That was fun! The hospital I was taken to was for VIP's so I didn't have to wait in the usual long line at the normal medical center. I've seriously seen cars stopping traffic just waiting to get into that place! The Al Ahli hospital is beautiful! It is like a full medical center covered by a metal outer structure. Beautiful. The guy that did our paperwork said the doctor would not be in until noon, so he told me to go ahead and get my lab and x-rays done. Man, the nurse at the lab totally and mercilessly jabbed my veins with the syringe. OUCH!!! I'm still bruised. That was not cool, man, not cool at all. Other than that, everyone else was pretty nice. Except the x-ray tech sent me to clinicals and after they performed the weight and height and BP, she was going to send me to the doctor until my check in guy walked by and yelled at me. Like I did something wrong on purpose. He was like really mad and told me to leave and come back at noon like he told me; the tech was trying to tell him the doctor said he would go ahead and wait on me, but the guy said NO! So I drove all the way back to the industrial area to the office in heavy traffic, sat for about half an hour and drove all the way back. The paperwork guy was all smiles by then, the check up with the doctor took five minutes and then I left. Really? This place sometimes....



Well, hopefully this time next week I will have my residency and can start making a home here. Wish me luck!

Advertisement



23rd August 2014

Beaches
I have also noticed the trash on beaches in the Middle East. You really couldn't walk barefoot on the beach in Aqaba (Jordan) due to all the broken glass, bottle caps, and cigarette butts lying in wait for unsuspecting bare feet. The only clean beaches I've seen in that part of the world were in Israel.
28th August 2014

Litter
It is quite unfortunate. Seeing people litter is my number one pet peeve. We usually wind up picking up a few pieces of trash as we clean up, but there is too much for any one person. I noted in Salalah, Oman, however, that they do hire people to clean. I saw a man in uniform at 6:00am on the beach picking up trash. It makes such a difference and gives you pride in your community.
23rd August 2014

Per previous recommendations...
"try for the clients who do actually want to work WITH me and who will actually pay us without fighting." Anyway, congratulations on having battled successfully through the immigration and medical bureaucracies. Does this mean you are going to extend your contract beyond this year? After all, the good seems to be outweighing the bad.
28th August 2014

Extending my stay
Yes, it appears I will be staying for another year probably. I am just now getting my Residency permit for Qatar, so who wants to go through that whole process and only enjoy it for a little bit! ?! My parents are sad, but chances are I won't be able to move near them anyway, so what is really the difference?
25th August 2014

Good luck
Sounds like their is plenty to do, see and explore without going to Dubai.
28th August 2014

Friends make all the difference
The biggest change here has been the hiring of more people, so now there are people to do things with. Whereas previously I was basically by myself so it got boring pretty quick. Now it is just fun to be social.

Tot: 0.059s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0387s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb