Qatar- more of the same


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
October 13th 2013
Published: October 13th 2013
Edit Blog Post

Instead of writing more of the same stuff as the last few blogs I have (crazy drivers, insane traffic, work work work, dune bashing), I'm just going to post some pics.

In 36 hours, I'll be flying to Madrid to celebrate the Eid holiday and I'm sure I'll have much more exciting information then! I can't wait to finally have a real break!!!


Additional photos below
Photos: 22, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

All dressed up...All dressed up...
All dressed up...

... and ready to go to a super fancy birthday party at a swanky Japanese club
Birthday PartyBirthday Party
Birthday Party

with my fellow hot shots
Souq al BaharSouq al Bahar
Souq al Bahar

This is the pretty souq across from the Dubai Mall. I'd never been, but it was quite nice
Souq al BaharSouq al Bahar
Souq al Bahar

I really would like to visit this area again.
Souq al BaharSouq al Bahar
Souq al Bahar

Next time, I'll try an outdoor seating area at a restaurant.
New rigs!New rigs!
New rigs!

more drilling rigs, truck mounted Frastes. Not quite the "truck mounted" rigs I was expecting and am used to from the states...
Gas Station explosionGas Station explosion
Gas Station explosion

Tanks beneath exploded and sucked in a few cars. Thankfully, no major injuries. I used this place quite a few times.. Scary.
Leon's first dune bashingLeon's first dune bashing
Leon's first dune bashing

Another dutch guy who caught on quick
Lines of quadsLines of quads
Lines of quads

You can pick and choose who you rent from
TroubleTrouble
Trouble

Luka was ready to bash some dunes!
My best one yetMy best one yet
My best one yet

This was actually my favorite quad so far. And the guy gave me a "beauty discount" - Leon tried to pay the same and was denied. Ha-ha!
StuckStuck
Stuck

The orange ones looked really cool, but they seemed to get stuck a lot.
Dune ripplesDune ripples
Dune ripples

Very windy day
DunesDunes
Dunes

It's amazing to see how much the dunes changed since last time
Dune changesDune changes
Dune changes

I rode my quad up a not-too-wussy-but-not-difficult hill and almost crashed into a small valley caused by propagating dunes - not there before.
EidEid
Eid

Tents being set up for the Eid holiday. Think I'll skip the sacrificing of the goats this year...
Crazy boysCrazy boys
Crazy boys

Coming down big hill
Crazy boysCrazy boys
Crazy boys

I'm mostly there to make sure they don't get TOO stupid
Chill-laxingChill-laxing
Chill-laxing

After returning our quads, my new favorite place has a tent to relax in and we enjoyed a picnic


14th October 2013

Great pictures!!!
Thanks for sharing. Riding quads in the sand looks awesome. I hope this finds you safe, healthy and happy, Pookie. Can't wait for the next blog post.

Tot: 0.095s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0513s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb