Doing this and that in Doha.


Advertisement
Qatar's flag
Middle East » Qatar » Doha
October 8th 2019
Published: October 8th 2019
Edit Blog Post

Sort of an instant replay of last night as I thought Lee would come on the tour but she wasn’t quite up to it. I went again as I said I’d help another woman here in the hotel if she needed any assistance but she too was a no show. I went along anyway as last night I didn’t have my ipad for photos (and I’m the only person in the world without a phone that they use as a camera) but this guide was hopeless and imparted so little information that I actually left mid tour which is something I’m reluctant to do in normal circumstances. I did see the falcons and horses and camels again but didn’t pick up any useful information. I went and learnt to play damar, a checker like game that’s fairly easy to learn but difficult to master. The rules are surprisingly easy, the strategy unknown to me and the result very predictable despite the fact my opponent ’let’ me get a couple of ‘king pieces.

Also ate a really good Turkish wrap which was chicken, spices, tomato, parsley, onion and a squeeze of lemon. Cooked on the spot it was cheap and very good. Watched a couple of ice cream vendors toy with their customers. Here for some reason they get really cheeky and pretend to drop the ice cream as they hand it over and it’s quite a ceremony before the product actually meets your grip but all in fun.

So home again and fairly early at 10:30. Have to look after Lee tomorrow but the plan is the Museum again tomorrow. We’ll see.


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



Tot: 0.262s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0535s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb