Kuwait Wait, Don't Tell Me


Advertisement
Kuwait's flag
Middle East » Kuwait » Al Jahra
June 12th 2009
Published: June 13th 2009
Edit Blog Post

After arriving in Atlanta, we, Julio Perry Monica, Eric, and I, met up with the rest of the group who had been stranded there after missing their flight the previous day. We began debating whether or not it would be best to try and get on the flight to Mumbai (Bombay) from there, or if we should fly into Kuwait and connect into Mumbai from there. We ended up flying to Kuwait, because it meant that all of us could get business class. Believe me, there would be no greater hell than the 14 hour flight wedged in the happy seat in the way back of the plane. I would have killed myself.

It was a nice flight, and I slept and ate the whole time. We had a great view of Kuwait as we landed. The sun was raising, illuminating the landscape and buildings, both, almost, exclusively the same color of brown. I had gotten a little sick from all this travel, on I was running a bit of a fever, so I was a little worried when they were actually doing full body heat-scans as people got off the plane. I got away free, but according to Perry, I would have been locked up, and possible sent back to the U.S. if they had caught me.

Kuwait was not so fun. Inside the airport we simply waited, for the plane to arrive, for the people to figure out our reservation, just everything was so monotonous. When we were getting really worried about having to spend the night in there, we finally found someone who knew how to book us on a flight, and we got the hell out of there.

It was a four hour flight, and with the time change, we arrived at Indian customs by 6 o'clock. More body scanners, more swine flu worries, but it went really fast. We caught a taxi outside the airport. It was a little disconcerting when our cabbie didn't know how to fine the Hotel, but he asked a few people on the side of the road, and found the place, no problem. The real fun came from watching my mom freak out in the back of the cab. India used to be under British control, and many of their customs are still in use here. For example, cars have the steering wheel on the right side, and they drive on the left side of the road. It is strange driving like this, and every once and a while you would have to stop your self from panicking about being on the wrong side. Its something that is hard to get used to. In addition to this, driving here is notoriously crazy, and is the equivalent to bumper cars or speed. My mom was flush as we sped down the street at 100 kph passing cars and merging within inches of one another.

All I can say is I am glad to finally be here. Its more than I imagined it would be, so far I have seen three bulls wondering the street, and I am sure there will be many more. I have seen hundreds of people, some dressed up very nicely, and others in rags sleeping on the street. The beggars haven't been that bad yet, but I can already tell that this trip is going to be hard with the poverty level here. You want to help them, you want to give them money, but in the end, you can't even make a dent.

We left Slc, Utah at 8 a.m, June 11th, 2009, we arrived in Mumbai, India at 7 a.m, June 13th, 2009

Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0632s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb