Dancing as a Stripper in Iran (VII)


Advertisement
Iran's flag
Middle East » Iran » North » Urmia
June 22nd 2007
Published: June 22nd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Maku weddingMaku weddingMaku wedding

as a woman, i just watch the men shake their booties...boooyah
Although I am japanese (ie Asian), meaning that I can't dance for bloody hell, I still try and make the best out of it by compensating with my bellydancing skills. Whether it be NYC or Maku, i've been swimming in bling! This turned out quite promising with my booty-shaking and techno playing ipod, as like a popular cheap whore, money was thrown at me like hotcakes.I even did the 'dishwashing' and 'lawn-mowing' routine' that I learned from a gay classmate.

I had the opportunity to encounter a jolly old wedding in the little town of Maku in the Western Azerbaijan by the Turkish border. It was random, as I was just returning from my visit to St Thaddeus' church a few miles away. We saw the event going on in the middle of the streets and decided to take part in it. After the villagers were done with their male-only cute circle-dance routine, i decided to compensate by doing a solo bellydancing gig while i plugged in my Turkish bellydancing music, Tarkan indeed is so sexy.

Men, both Japanese and locals, threw money at me like a Las Vegas stripper. i gave all the proceeds to the bride
Maku weddingMaku weddingMaku wedding

if you want to see some stripper equivalent dance pics, please read this blog
and groom, but later i found out that Iranians don't dance like so. Arabs dance with their hips, whereas the iranians are known for their active arm movements.

In the village of Maku, at 5am, I decided to walk up these steep cliffs to see the famous Safavid citadel built upon the heights of the high rock formations. I later found out that their main mosque was up here, regardless of my huffing and puffing. Wow, locals can make it this far every week, "respek man, respek". (too much Borat, sorry...so out of date, apparently)

We proceeded onto the beatiful city of Tabriz that day. Despite its status as a major urban town, I came to the realization that it is full of culture (armenian mosques, sexy hot Bazaar built 500 years ago and still used to this day - the best in Iran...35 kms of passageways,come on).

Tabriz happens to be veiled in mystery when it comes to its origins. According to Biblical studies, it is claimed to be the opening gates of the garden of Eden! Tabriz' markets are known to be the highest quality of all. here, one can purchase anything from mysterious natural
Maku weddingMaku weddingMaku wedding

stripper equivalent dance pics, believe it or not here they are
remedies to the finest antique gold necklace, that is only if they know their way around.

I must say, when a jeweller scoffed at me for asking whether the necklace was 24carats, he claimed that there is nothing lower than 18 carats sold in Iran...because 'duhhhh, gold iz nat gold unless it is 18 or khei-er!'







Additional photos below
Photos: 10, Displayed: 10


Advertisement

Maku weddingMaku wedding
Maku wedding

worth the deathly climb - a villager later told me a few climbers trip and sometimes even plunge to their deaths a few times a year. eeek.
Maku Maku
Maku

A friendly baker in the 'hood
Maku weddingMaku wedding
Maku wedding

Maku - definitely worth the visit despite the mixture of many languages in the area!
Red light district!Red light district!
Red light district!

Here in Tabriz, gold jewellry district, red neon signs
Jame mosqueJame mosque
Jame mosque

tabriz bazaar where the mosque exists there just in case (ie. never the hot place to be in town)
Abu Qapu courtyardAbu Qapu courtyard
Abu Qapu courtyard

here i was criticized of being an immora; woman just for showing my fringe/bangs and also eating a piece of yummy bread
Maku weddingMaku wedding
Maku wedding

stripper equivalent dance pics, believe it or not here they are


23rd June 2007

Thank you Brad!
I hope you do have an opportunity to travel the Middle East in the future - we history majors never forget our passions;-) - and listen to your sexy nostalgic songs! It brings me much happiness to hear how much you enjoyed my blogs, haha you're not a terrible person, it was part of your research after all! I don't know if locals have heard of Rod, but I was surprised by their polyphonic ringtones ranging from 'Careless Whisper' to Elvis. I can't stop laughing to imagine them sing such tunes with their exotic Persian accents...it may turn out hot, never know. Take care;-) xxxYJ
12th May 2008

Now where did i put my coffee?
Hello Miss Yuki Jen Just wanted to say thanks for helping me waste valuable working hours:) I've lost count of how many hours I’ve spent enjoying your blogs (Yes I’m a slow reader, that’s why I work for the Gov) Anways just one more entry before I get back to work, ok maybe just a couple, damn where did the day go. Whoot home time Yeh!

Tot: 0.299s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 16; qc: 128; dbt: 0.259s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.3mb