In some ways...


Advertisement
Cyprus' flag
Middle East » Cyprus » Larnaca
April 15th 2015
Published: April 15th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Having lived abroad for almost 3 years now, I have been given so many opportunities to experience life in ways that I never imagined I could. It has opened my eyes to an entire world I had no idea really, actually existed...

In some ways, Earth is exceptionally small. Compared with the rest of the universe we are a tiny, minute spec of both existence and time. The human race of today will only be present for such a short amount of forever. To the rest of the endless universe, we barely make any difference at all. I spend a surprising amount of time thinking about this rather depressing thought! And it always leaves me thinking about the ways in which we lead our lives. I understand that each individual is different, and people find happiness in different ways. But for me, I wonder why I'm expected to spend such an exciting and vibrant time in my life working away, following a day by day routine just to lead me on to the next part of my life. I do the same things day in, day out, and recently I find myself questioning it more and more often. People literally work just to be able to afford to go to work the next day. It makes no sense. I've come to the conclusion that I don't want to spend my younger years this way, I want to experience and enjoy my life while I can.

I said before in some ways the world is exceptionally small and now I'd like to emphasise the word some. Because in other ways, it's absolutely absolutely massive. It's made enormous by the hugely diverse populations that have evolved here. Every corner of the world seems to be worlds apart. There is an endless number of different cultures and religions spread throughout the world, all living with different norms and traditions. There are hundreds, probably thousands of languages spoken within so many different communities. Neighbouring countries experience extreme differences in health and well-being. Unbelievably contrasting landscapes are there, waiting to be explored all over the planet. It's so big you couldn't possibly see it all in a lifetime.

Having seen small parts of the world already, I've decided to spend at least the next year of my life traveling in an attempt to embrace as much of the diversity that exists throughout the world as I possibly can in that time. Of course, I will have to work along the way to fund this however, I will do everything I can to take every chance I am given to experience new things, places and people in each place I find myself in. The world is supposed to be explored by the people who are on it.

Advertisement



16th April 2015

(:
Beautiful! Looking forward to all the posts if they're as deep and interesting as this! You go, ukulele!

Tot: 0.062s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.032s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb