Hot Bahrain


Advertisement
Bahrain's flag
Middle East » Bahrain » Manama
July 27th 2007
Published: August 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Bahrain

Out of all my travelblog entries the Bahraini experience is so far my only business trip, therefore it couldn’t be as fun and enjoyable as my holidays’ travelling. Nevertheless I feel impelled to write some notes about this distinctive Kingdom.

If you are travelling to the Middle East during the summer months except the worst in terms of heat. The first thing you will notice upon your arrival is the hot/humid weather combination! I honestly thought that coming from a hot and humid country myself, I would not suffer too much under temperatures of 45 degrees Celsius, but it was much worse than what I expected. On my first day, temperatures reached 52 degrees Celsius which is something that I never thought would be possible. It was humanly impossible for me to stay outside an air conditioned place. While driving around the city I could see many workers, mainly builders and street cleaners, working under this excruciating heat. Later I found out that their wages are extremely low by any standards and I feel really sorry for them.

Driving across town you will constantly see road works everywhere you go, as well as magnificent towers and hotels. Vegetation is almost inexistent and the few palm trees and numerous American cars resemble pretty much an American city, which I found very odd.

Their weekend being on Fridays and Saturdays restricted my opportunities of sightseeing in Bahrain. On one of my few days out, I visited the Gold Souk. I was one of the very few women there and I felt really uncomfortable walking in between a number of men staring at me as if I was an ET, despite being properly dressed and accompanied by my male colleagues.

After that, we decided that it was more fun to have a drink at one of nice hotels in town and we went to the Sheraton. I have been told that some of the best restaurants and bars in Bahrain are in the hotels and I can only agree with that. I have also been told that Bahrain is a very liberal muslin country in the Middle East where anyone can drink alcohol and women don’t always cover themselves entirely.

In terms of hotels, I was particularly impressed with the Ritz Carlton hotel, and its bar and restaurants. It’s just like being in a luxurious mini city! The contrast in between the Ritz and the reality faced by those street workers is unprecedented.

What I like most about Bahrain is the good food from any cuisine in the world at reasonable prices. There are also some nightclubs open until late hours. In those nightclubs you will find all sorts of people, including many young girls gaining their lives in a very sad manner. On weekends the city is invaded by the Saudis.

There are so many interesting things to say about Bahrain but I will list only a few:

I have not seen any beaches or parks, which I found very sad; I have experienced a sand storm, and it was impressive; the local people are extremely friendly and always willing to help.

I will include here some restaurants’ names and bars which I have been and would like to recommend. (To be added soon).



Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 12; qc: 69; dbt: 0.0696s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb