The Eternal City


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
May 30th 2006
Published: May 30th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone! Today is our last day in Rome and we will be leaving for Barcelona Spain tonite by plane! We had a lot of fun in Venice and Rome, Italy. We took an overnight train to Venice from Paris and boy did that suck! We were going to do the same thing from barcelona to paris but we changed our minds and are now going to take the day train and spend an extra night in paris. Luckily for us though we had some really nice couchette mates who brought wine and scrabble to share with everyone. And Dave won the scrabble game by 3 points and i was shortly behind him.
In Venice we got to go to the island of Murano to check out all the cool glass! The boat ride there was beautiful. It was so cool to be able to take a ride in the Adriatic Sea. We also saw La Rialto Bridge which is Venices most famous bridges that crosses one of the many canals that is in the city. Our favorite part about venice was that there were no cars and it was very romantic.
when we arrived in Rome we were extremely shocked to see how run down it was. However, among all the chaotic drivers and city streets were some really great historical monuments. First we went to the Vatican City which is home to St. Peters Basilica and the Sistene Chapel. Then we made our way through the city to see the Pantheon, the Fountains of Trevi, the Colosseum and many churches and ruins. Rome is great if you dont mind the pollution and the run down streets. However, we wil definitely miss the warm weather and shining sun. I think i got a little tan doing all that walking! We had lots of gellato and pizza even for breakfast. I just hope the weather in Spain is also nice.
Well now we have to catch a plane to Barcelona and well write from there next time.
Ciao,
Dave and Shannon

Advertisement



30th May 2006

I'm so excited for you!
I couldn't think of any other girl that deserves to have all these wonderful experiences in life. I'm so relieved you made it there safe and am living vicariously through your blogs. Although I want you to see everything and have lots of great moments, hurry home because Bailey and I really really miss you guys! I love you Shanny!
2nd June 2006

Shannon and Dave, I am in Paris....let's hang out. I am staying at FIAP JEAN MONNET...here is the number...01 43 13 17 00. I think you can leave a message for me at the front desk. Hope to see you soon!
3rd June 2006

Me again, the hostel address is 30 Rue de Cabanis...I am out and about exploring the Latin Quarter, Uùll check my email later today again! Sarah

Tot: 0.099s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 48; dbt: 0.072s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb