The Pope was not home


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
April 18th 2008
Published: April 16th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Oh well,

That is what made it less crowded most likely. Wow, the church is so massive! It was almost overwhelming to take in the beauty of everything inside and out. I was really in awe of the peace I felt here.

We had spent a good hour inside St. Peter's Basilica, looking at all the details. It was crowded, but not overly. We had talked about how quiet it was in there even with thousands of people inside. I know it is out of respect, but still hard to believe the stillness.

The Vatican Museum was amazing! I love the details in everything. Even with all our technology, they cannot reproduce the beauty of the walls and ceilings in there. The Sistine Chapel is truly a sight to see! Oh how I wish I could have taken photos in there! We rushed through in probably 2-3 hours but you could easily spend days in there and not see it all.


Additional photos below
Photos: 19, Displayed: 19


Advertisement



Tot: 0.046s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0237s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb