Vestment confusion


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City
June 3rd 2005
Published: June 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

There are times when I wish priests would wear signs so we know whether we are addressing priests, cardinals, bishops, monsiegnors or whatever. Why do I think this might be helpful? Well, I am not certain, but I may have startled someone important yesterday.

While en route home from picking up a rosary for a friend, I did what Les and I have done since we got here and have needed something blessed...I stopped a priest and asked him if he would bless the rosary for me. He looked quite taken aback, actually, which is highly unusual. He was wearing a grey shirt with his clerical collar so his startled response made me wonder if, perhaps, he was an Anglican or Lutheran priest, someone who is not accustomed to being asked to bless rosaries. So I said, "If you are not Catholic and are not comfortable doing this, that's okay." Of course I said all this in English, not thinking about saying it in any other language. He responded, "Oh, I am Catholic," and his tone of voice sounded a bit like he was thinking, "You have no idea who I am or what I do or anything or you would not ask this question." He was not rude or anything, just startled. Anyhow, he blessed the rosary very nicely, put his hand on my shoulder and said, "And God bless you, too," with a very English accent and a gentle, pastoral spirit. And off we went in our separate directions.

So I don't know. Maybe he is a cardinal or archbishop or something. I know he was not the Pope but that is about all I know for sure. Maybe he is not accustomed to having people interact with him as though he is a priest like any other priest. If so, then perhaps our brief conversation was a good thing for him as well as for me. I did come away with a sense of having been touched by love, and that is always a great gift in any day.

But I still think he could have had a sign!

Margo

Advertisement



Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.026s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0235s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb