Rome: Day 1


Advertisement
Vatican City's flag
Europe » Vatican City » Vatican City
May 12th 2007
Published: May 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Vatican CityVatican CityVatican City

One of many entrances to the Vatican
Today was a lot of walking. I got up early and went to St. Peter's Basilica, a short walk from the hostel. I had to wait in line for security screenings, but it was worth it. From there I headed to Castel Sant' Angelo, which I got into for free. Next, I went to the Plazza del Popolo, where the 155th Anniversary of the founding of the Roman police was occuring. I then tried to head back to the hostel for a short break, as I was really exhausted from the walking and not having been around 80 degree temps for quite some time. Unfortunately the hostel was closed for cleaning, so I took the metro line to to Plazza Barberini. There I took pictures of the Fountana del Tritone. I then walked to the Plazza della Repubblica, taking pictures of the massive fountain there, as well as touring Santa Maria degli Angeli (a basilica). From there I made my way to the Fountana de Trevi, first stopping at the Plazza del Quirinale where I saw something that may have been a changing of the guard. The Trevi fountain was massive and very cool looking, however it was really crowded
Vatican CityVatican CityVatican City

St. Peter's Square
and difficult to get good pictures. Before heading back to the hostel for the night, I stopped at the Trinita del Monti.


Additional photos below
Photos: 49, Displayed: 22


Advertisement

Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Square
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Square
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Square
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Square
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Square
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Basilica
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Basilica
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Basilica
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Basilica
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Basilica
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Basilica
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Basilica
Vatican CityVatican City
Vatican City

St. Peter's Basilica


Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 61; dbt: 0.0678s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb